I deliberated on writing about this topic for a long time. It seems unimportant, since it is just a fact of my existence, yet it may hold value for some young person out there searching for reassurance in a world that tells them they will feel differently one day about their singleness feeling right to them, in a world that places so much value on being in a romantic relationship. Here is the truth: I am single woman in her 40s living my best life. Never dated anyone seriously, never procreated, never went to bed with anyone, and I regret none of it. I got told, numerous times, when I articulated my lack of a desire to find a romantic partner or raise kids that I would reach midlife and feel a sense of emptiness and longing. And… I don’t.

I like my life. I enjoy my cats, and my gardening, and spending all my free time writing books, and I regret none of it. I don’t regret never having sex, I don’t regret never finding a partner, I don’t wish I had grand-kids to lavish my love and attention upon. I don’t feel as if my life lacks anything. It satisfies me in the ways that matter to me.

To be clear, I admire women who want to be mothers. I think that is an amazing thing. To raise another person right, to instill in them virtues, to love them and tuck them in at night, then to see them go off into the world must feel incredible. I just knew it wasn’t my calling, since I had zero desires in that direction. Romance, marriage, sex, none of it ever interested me. I grew up “asexual” when nobody had a word for it, in the 90s. And it was not often easy.

Secular people urged me to have sex, and some Christian folks insisted my true calling as a godly woman was to birth and raise babies. One friend had to quit talking to me, because I was a “bad influence.” But all of that is okay. It did not scar me, nor deter me from my self-awareness. But not everyone is me, and that’s why I am writing this post.

I want other asexual Christians out there to know they are normal, they have value, and they can choose to live their single life without feeling guilty about not building a Christian family. You can not want sex, not want to be a parent, and not have to be a missionary to “use your celibacy well,” and still be in God’s favor.  He works with what we offer up to Him. He walks beside us, in the life we choose for ourselves. So don’t assume because you were born to be celibate without feeling like it is a sacrifice, that means you MUST go into the mission field. I didn’t. I wasn’t made for that, any more than I was made to have kids. I write books, and I love my family, and I adore my cats, and I try to honor God with how I treat others and conduct my life, and that’s enough. I do not feel as if anything is “missing” in my soul or in my life.

I go to my parents’ house on Saturday nights and we watch something together. Our latest has been the CBS series Christy. Watching it brings back a lot of memories about being eleven years old and seeing it for the first time. It reminded me that I loved Miss Alice the most, because she was who I wanted to be when I grew up—a strong, independent, moral, godly woman without a husband. Yes, she is a missionary in her own right, but it’s what she chose to do. And it shook me a little to realize… I have become Miss Alice. A strong, independent, moral, godly woman without a husband. I am almost the same age, even! And many of the traits I admire in her, I see reflected in myself (her desire to see the good in people, but push them toward self-actualization and improvement, her sharpness of tongue, her insistence on doing things for herself, her pig-headed resolve, and feeling bad if she loses her temper; but also her belief in God, her desire to do right by others, and her willingness to self-examine and correct herself, to be more in alignment with what the Spirit calls her to be).

It made me feel good. I never consciously aimed to be this person, it just happened because I valued and admired women like her, who were someone I could identify with and who I wanted to emulate. So, for the “ace” and “a-romantic” Christian teens out there who may stumble across this post, be of good heart. Follow your instincts. Listen to yourself. Be okay with not wanting the things your culture, family, or your religion tell you that you “should” want. It’s okay to be different, it’s okay to not care about what seems to drive other people (a need/desire for sex). It’s okay not to label it, to define yourself by it, or to make an identity out of it. Just decide who you are, and be that. And one day, you will look back and realize, you have become your best self, and you are living the life you knew was right for you, and you have no regrets.