Femnista: The Middle Ages (July / Aug 2015)

femnista

Femnista: The Middle Ages (July / Aug 2015)

Contents: Tristan & Isolde, Kingdom of Heaven, Joan of Arc, Ivanhoe, A Knight’s Tale, King Arthur, Robin Hood, The Princess Bride.

FREE. Download it here. Or view it online here.

Product of Charity’s Place. (Click to read back issues, movie reviews, etc.)

I’m always looking for new writers, so contact me if interested.

8 Replies to “Femnista: The Middle Ages (July / Aug 2015)”

  1. I really liked your article, Charity! I’m pretty unfamiliar with the story of Tristan and Isolde, so I found it very informative. And I especially liked how you linked the changes in the story to the beliefs of the time.

    1. Thanks!

      I am SLOWLY gaining perspective on the thought process of the middle ages. It’s hard to wrap a modern mind around such … different ideas. I’ve been reading a biography on Thomas More, and it touches lightly on the medieval symbolism and prose of the period, and I can’t even fathom it because it’s so fundamentally different from a modern perspective. We misinterpret so much in history, because we have lost the concept of the symbolism of the period.

      1. I took “History of the Christian Church” back in college, and when we reached the Middle Ages, my professor said, “And now we enter the merry world of medieval theology.” That sarcasm pretty well sums it up, doesn’t it?

        1. Did they get into all the scatological imagery? Because that’s where the book kind of lost me. I just stared blankly at the far wall, trying to wrap my mind around how you can connect theology to metaphors involving feces.

          I just… yeah.

          1. Somewhat, yes. I remember reading things going, “Really, people? You need to be this nasty?” Makes Martin Luther’s more earthy quotations seem downright dainty by comparison.

          2. I’m still mulling over Martin’s likening himself to dung (my word, not his) and the world to a backside (mine, not his), and how soon he feels they will fundamentally part.

            I read that in the biography of Thomas More and just about dropped my book. He, em, employed a great many shall we say colorful phrases when mulling over his place in this world. 😉

Share Your Thoughts

