One Lovely Blog Award

one-lovely-blog-award

The One Lovely Blog Award nominations are chosen by fellow bloggers for those newer and up-and-coming bloggers. The goal is to help give recognition and also to help the new blogger to reach more viewers. It also recognizes blogs that are considered to be “LOVELY” by the fellow bloggers who choose them. This award recognizes bloggers who share their story or thoughts in a beautiful manner to CONNECT with viewers and followers. In order to “accept” the award the nominated blogger must follow several guidelines:

Thank the person who nominated you for the award.
Add the One Lovely Blog logo to your post.
Share 7 facts or things about yourself.
Nominate 15 or more bloggers you admire and inform the nominees by commenting on their blog.

I want to thank Marissa for nominating me. (Sorry it took me forever to get around to doing it!)

Seven Things About Me:

1. I love all animals but my absolute favorite has always been cats. Big cats, little cats. Tigers, lions, tabby cats, Siamese … I am crazy about cats. One of the few pictures we have of me as a little tyke is me holding a kitten with a look of total delight on my face. I’m the sort of Hermione-esque person who will adopt and love a nasty cat, just so SOMEONE is loving it.

2. My pinkie fingers are a quarter of an inch shorter than they should be, in comparison to the length of my other fingers, because they are set so low on the side of my hand. It is a family trait.

3. In my bedroom, the four things I love most are: framed artwork posters of Rhett and Scarlett, a little painted plaster of paris, cross-eyed, blue-eyed Siamese cat I found in a thrift store, and a 1920’s esque square piece of art from Hobby Lobby.

4. I never wear lipstick, because I don’t like how it feels on my lips or how it makes them look.

5. Roses are my favorite flower … and that obsession began before I became a Phantom of the Opera “phanatic.”

6. My first literary crush was (and still is) Sherlock Holmes. My first big-screen crush was Captain von Trapp in The Sound of Music. My first television crush was Colin McGregor in Snowy River: The McGregor Saga. My first voice crush was George Sanders, as the voice of Sher Khan in Disney’s animated The Jungle Book.

7. I used to dress up in an authentic dress and bonnet and attend Pioneer School at the local museum when I was a kid. I was an expert “butter churner” (more like … butter shaker … in a glass jar).

I don’t like to choose between friends’ blogs, so if you’re reading this and want to answer the questions, consider yourself officially nominated. 🙂

8 Replies to “One Lovely Blog Award”

    1. I had total voice crushes going on when I was a kid. Scar — Jeremy Irons — was another one. I think half the reason I became a Langella fan was for his wonderful, velvety, soft voice. Alan Rickman? Yes, please. I never grew out of it. 😛

      1. Oh, I still get voice crushes. I wouldn’t be nearly so fond of Flynn Rider if he didn’t have that snarky, sassy voice from Zachary Levi. And one of the things I like best about Forever are all the voice-overs from Ioan Gruffudd, who could do audio books for the next fifty years and I’d buy them all, even books I didn’t like.

        Both Scar and Mufasa had the most amazing voices.

        And then there’s the animated Robin Hood. Awesome, awesome voice. But even he didn’t compare to the velvety sarcasm of Bagheera.

        1. Me too. Half the time my like or dislike of an actor is based on his voice. I do it with women, too, actually — I really like some actresses for their voices!

          I’m afraid I can’t recall Bagheera’s voice to mind, but in my defense, it has been 20 years since I watched the animated version!

          1. That’s a pretty good defense 😉 He’s voiced by Sebastian Cabot, who did quite a bit of voice work for Disney — narrated the classic Winnie the Pooh movies, voiced Sir Ector in The Sword in the Stone, etc. He’s in bunches of live-action movies from the 50s and 60s too, like the Elizabeth Taylor version of Ivanhoe.

Share Your Thoughts

