19 Replies to “The Hobbit Teaser Trailer”

  1. I can’t wait!! But I haven’t seen any part of The Hobbit yet. It took me till last year to see all of The Lord of the Rings; I hope it doesn’t take as long with The Hobbit!

  2. I’m so excited!!! Although, if it’s called “The Battle of the Five Armies,” maybe they won’t include the destruction of Dol-Goldur from the appendices. Shame, I was really looking forward to that! 😦 Overall, though, this movie looks EPIC!!!!!! πŸ™‚

    1. If they’ve gone to all the trouble of establishing the turmoil at Dol-Goldur, they won’t skip out on rescuing Gandalf and the ensuing aftermath. They must have SOMETHING going on, because Christopher Lee said that out of the three Hobbit films, his role is largest in this one! I’m sure we’ll see more of all the characters in the regular trailer once it’s released.

      1. You’re right. I looked at some of the other trailers on YouTube and they have more hype for that. Also, did anyone else notice that the song is the same one Pippin sings in Return of the King? πŸ˜‰

  3. Am I supposed to have thoughts other than “THE HOBBIT!!!!!!!!”? Because that’s all I’m getting right now. πŸ˜‰ So excited!!!!!

  4. Can’t… breathe!

    I’m so excited about TBoFA! These Hobbit movies seem to have split the Tolkien fans more than the LOTR movies but I’m one of those fans who’s really loved them. I’m not looking forward to the ending of this movie though because when it ends that really *will* be it. Apart from that Tolkien biopic that’s on the horizon they’ll be no more Middle-earth goodness to look forward to 😦 It will be like the time I finished Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and thought “Oh no! What am I going to do with my life?!” πŸ˜€

    1. I have occasional nitpicks with some of his choices (do we really need a star-crossed dwarf-elf romance?), but overall I’m a fan of The Hobbit movies. I really love that he’s incorporating stuff from the appendices of LotR into this story, to better round it out and help pave the way for the events in LotR.

      Oh, gosh, that feeling of completion and the inevitable despair that follows. I felt that when the first LotR series ended… then when HP concluded… but as life has shown us, there will always be something new and exciting to capture our imaginations. πŸ™‚

      1. Even though there’s a part of me that thinks I shouldn’t, I actually really *enjoyed* the romance between Kili and Tauriel! πŸ™‚ I was convinced that I was going to hate it before I went into the movie but when I actually saw DoS I found it really sweet and adorable. Did we need it? No, but I liked it anyway. I do have some nitpicks with The Hobbit movies – e.g. there’s too much CGI; the Pale Orc is a boring, cardboard cut-out villain – but overall I’ve loved them. Not to the extent of the LOTR movies but then I consider Tolkien’s The Hobbit to be inferior to the LOTR anyway so I guess that was always going to be inevitable.

        Yes, you are totally 100% correct on your last point πŸ™‚

        BTW, since we’re having a Tolkien discussion, have you ever read The Silmarillion? I don’t think they could ever adapt the entire book but I do think that the Beren-Luthien story could make for a pretty great movie.

        1. I find it kind of weird, although it did contribute something to the plot that wasn’t overly-drawn out battle scenes. My mom finally got around to watching Part 2 last night and said, “PJ will forever be known as the man who filmed too long of battle scenes.” I agree, most of the sequences in both films are so long that for me, they drag a bit. But overall, I love them.

          I started reading The Simarillion and read maybe half of it, but then I either got bored or distracted and it had to go back to the library. You’re right, it’s too fragmented to make a good movie, but elements of it would be pretty good on screen. Not that Christopher Tolkien will let them within a hundred yards of it…

    1. Not me. I remain mature, and dignified, and unimpressed, at all times. πŸ˜‰

      *coughs and examines fingernails*

      *whispers* I don’t know that one ever grows out of being a hardcore Tolkien junkie…

  5. The poster is gorgeous, I absolutely agree. I have a question though. How did you become a magazine editor and what magazine do you write for?

    1. I lucked out. My parents started a local publication when I was eleven or so, and as the years passed I just fell into the position of editor. Unfortunately, it’s harder when your family isn’t involved. I’d tell you what it is, but you’ve never heard of it, because it is just a local publication. πŸ™‚

  6. Oh man I am so stoked now!!! What would be even cooler is if all of us nerds were able to get together and see the movie. Ha, that’d be awesome.

    1. Ooh, that would be cool! If the Floo Network was up and running, it would even be possible! Alas, I suspect we are spread over the four corners of the earth!

Share Your Thoughts

