Illustrating the Functions: NJ vs NP

I’ve been learning a lot about identifying cognitive functions lately, but I couldn’t think of any way to simply explain them in writing. I learn best through seeing something in action, so I decided to compile a video of examples instead. This one deals in intuitive types — NJ vs. NP.

Introverted Functions (Fi/Ti/Ni/Si) are only visible through Extroverted Functions (Fe/Te/Ne/Se), so you won’t see much Ni, just mostly Te with Rodney.

Stargate Atlantis Characters Used:

Samantha Carter – INTP (Ti-Ne-Si-Fe)

Rodney McKay – INTJ (Ni-Te-Fi-Se)

Jennifer Keller – ENFP (Ne-Fi-Te-Si)

11 Replies to “Illustrating the Functions: NJ vs NP”

  1. My goodness Charity, I’m not sure what to say. I am a christian INTP female who is obsessed with personality type, specifically the use of functions rather than the classic MBTI typing. Would love to get in touch with you!

    1. Me too. Do you have a favorite character on SGA?

      I LOVE John Sheppard, but in all honesty, Rodney McKay cracks me up the most, so if I had to choose just one, it would be him. (For SG-1, it’s a tie between Jack and Sam. I love her because she’s brilliant, and him because he deals out some astounding levels of sarcasm.)

Share Your Thoughts

