The Secret in Belfast Sale

titanic

 In years past, I have done something to commemorate Titanic on my blog in the week leading up to the anniversary of the sinking. That means I’ve pretty much covered every aspect of it that I can think of for the moment, so this year I’m doing something a bit different.

secret in belfastAll week, from April 9-15th, my speculative fiction novel The Secret in Belfast, is on sale (on Kindle). It starts out at 99 cents and goes through a price transition mid-week.

What is it about? Titanic is the backdrop, but the story revolves around the hunt for a grimoire that threatens to open the doorway between our world and the otherworld. The main character, Richard, is an empath who not only feels other people’s emotions strongly but can discern things about them through them, as well as influence other’s emotions if he so chooses. He has a mysterious past that he must work through in the present, while caught up in the goings-on at Harland & Wolff.

Thomas Andrews is one of the primary secondary characters, and he too has a gift, but I won’t tell you what it is. The story isn’t Christian, but has Christian elements in it about forgiveness, change, facing the darkness within ourselves, and fulfilling your purpose. It is, I hope, a moving story that pays respect to the original people while casting them in a new light. I cried while writing one particular chapter – not because it’s sad (it is) but because it’s also beautiful. I hope you’ll take this opportunity to grab it, read it, think about the historical event and people, and be touched by it.

You can nab it here.

As always, if you like it, reviews on Amazon are appreciated.

5 Replies to “The Secret in Belfast Sale”

  1. Wonderful! This is a great way to share your love of Titanic and who doesn’t enjoy a good sale!? This has reminded me, I still need to watch ‘Blood & Steel’ – just rearranged my few DVD’s that have made their way onto my book shelf upstairs and I think that is one of them so perhaps in honor of this anniversary I should finally watch it on one of my late-night movie events. 😉

    1. I think I’ve exhausted my creativity when it comes to doing Titanic-themed posts, so I’ll just throw my book out there instead. I’m re-watching a bunch of related stuff as well — I considered B&S but… well, I just watched it last month, so it may be too soon. I hope you enjoy it, though. Let me know what you think of it! No one else that I know has actually seen it!

      1. Certainly! You know I love to chat up awesome costume drama. Perhaps next week – or Sunday night even (that seems to be the night I watch movies – if I do – after everyone else is asleep), I’ll give it a try. (Unfortunately there is too much work to do closing out this week.)

        …and BTW, look who has an epic new profile pic! 😉

        1. If I had twelve hours to spare right now, I’d watch it… but it’s always fun to see it through someone else’s eyes!

          Aw, yeah. Gotta use Natasha for awhile. She’s awesome. 😀

          1. I get that. That’s a HUGE reason why we watch the 2005 Pride & Prejudice most often – just because we have the 2hrs. vs. the six.

            She IS indeed awesome! ;D

Share Your Thoughts

