Femnista: March / April “A Time of War”

issue

Our latest issue of Femnista is now available.

You can read it online or download it.

If you enjoy this free publication, please share it with your family and friends. We also desperately need writers for upcoming issues.* See our list of promised submissions and future issue topics. Please direct submission requests to femnista at charitysplace.com.

*If I can’t get enough submissions, I’ll be forced to discontinue the webzine… which would make me sad.

Inside this issue:

Civil War Topics:

Surrogate Assassin
Louisa May Alcott
Gone With the Wind
Cold Mountain
Women at War
Gods & Generals

Other Wars:
The Last Samurai
War of the Worlds
Raoul Wallenberg

23 Replies to “Femnista: March / April “A Time of War””

  1. I’ve been enjoying Femnista for a while now — I’ll go check out the list of things you need writers for! I’ve been thinking about offering to contribute for a while, but been shy. The threat of discontinuation has gotten me to overcome that, though ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I had a feeling that might happen if you didn’t get more submissions. Here’s hoping people feel inspired to contribute!

    If you could change the Family Affair over to Winchesters and Hansel & Gretel that would be awesome. If you need two submissions for that issue, I’ll do The Originals too.

    And I will probably need something different for Faith & Villainy. I pretty much wrote all I had to say on Beckett back in that blog post several years ago. My bad! So any ideas on alternate topics?

    1. I’d hate to discontinue it. ๐Ÿ˜›

      If I need more submissions later on, I’ll let you know. That issue is still months away.

      Alternate topics for Faith & Villainy? How about any person of faith in any time in history that lived and breathed? The Borgia pope using faith to become the first “Godfather” of the Church, Amy Carmichael and the Indian orphans, Henry VIII instilling Protestantism just so he could get a divorce, Thomas More refusing to deny his faith and going to his death, Anne Boleyn pushing for the Reformation, Martin Luther shaking up the world, Joan of Arc becoming a martyr, St. Patrick and his love for the Irish people, etc. The possibilities are endless.

  3. Hooray! Another Femnista issue. I saw it on my phone but well, that’s not the best platform to browse an e-zine, so I’ll have to have a look at it on the computer now. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Congrats.

  4. I’m so sorry for not emailing you back, Charity, it’s been test galore for the past few months and I just dropped the ball on getting back to messages. I’ve sort of been brainstorming potential topics I’d want to write on for the next issue but I’m coming up blank at the moment (very strange considering I think I watch and read enough on the subject #weird). I’ll keep you posted but in the meantime will do my best to spread the word ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I’m sorry you’ve been having such trouble getting writers! I can do an article for the Georgian Period on William Blake, LMM’s Emily books for Underrated Tales, Morgana (from BBC’s Merlin) in Monsters and Madness, and Chuck and Ellie (from Chuck) for A Family Affair.

    Oh, and I look forward to reading this later today!

      1. You’re welcome! And I’m going to try to get them to you super-early so they don’t end up getting written at the last minute and so they don’t interfere with school.

    1. ALL OF THEM.

      I have only 5 or 6 submissions for each topic, and I like to have at least 10 per issue, so I can have a 20 page webzine. (Last year we averaged 15-20 submissions per issue, so I’m not sure what happened!)

      1. Ok, don’t shoot me, but I don’t really know much about Femnista…is it basically a girl’s nerdy magazine (and I mean that in the most positive way) about different books, characters, TV series, historical events, etc?

        1. Yes, that is the gist of it. I encourage you to read some back issues (you can find them all at Charity’s Place) to get a feel for it. I choose a theme for each issue and our writers have the liberty to write about whatever strikes their fancy (film, art, books, historical events/figures), so long as it fits that theme. I encourage them to look beyond the surface (as I do in many of my posts), so quite often we have some brilliantly insightful articles.

          1. Ooooo, I know it’s early, but may I do a submission about Rumplestiltsken for the Halloween issue? And is that Rumple from the Once Upon A Time universe, or the Grimm’s fairytale imp, or both?

          2. Anything listed on the website is a topic that has already been claimed by another writer (I post them there so people don’t try to claim anything already chosen), so I’m afraid Rumplestiltsken is unavailable. Sorry!

Share Your Thoughts

