Who Am I?

girldog

I am the kind of person who…

Adopts a nasty cat, because even the nasty cats deserve kindness.

Is the first one to read a friend’s self-published book, even if I’m in the middle of a Pratchett novel.

Leaves the comfort of a car on a windy day to pet a dog, because I want him to feel loved.

Doesn’t make promises easily, because I intend to keep them all.

Is easily distracted, but has life-long love affairs with certain things.

Sucks you in with my serious demeanor, only to turn into a funny, mischievous troublemaker.

Would rather read an immoral story that makes me think, than a moral one that doesn’t.

Can recite entire sections from my favorite movie, but haven’t the faintest idea what I had for dinner last night.

Constantly asks why, but accepts what I cannot change.

Doesn’t pray a lot, but talks to God with every line in every book I write.

I’m Charity.

Who are you?

14 Replies to “Who Am I?”

  1. Totally unrelated: why is it in pictures, girls can do that with their hair, but when I try it, it just looks bad?

    I’m Carol, sometimes laid-back, sometimes too eager to be liked, trying to be a better servant of God (and constantly failing), sporadic writer, lover of fashion, voracious reader, mom, wife, and animal-lover. I am all of these things and more. 🙂

  2. Its a relief to know that I’m not the only who prays sporadically. Love the one about the moral/immoral books. Christian fiction is for Christians- it doesn’t really reach the lost. I’ve come across far more secular thought-provoking books.

    1. I try to pray every night before bed, and when I eat — but I’ve never been one of these “constant communication” Christians, because God is with me all the time. And He has taught me way more through my writing than I’ve ever learned anywhere else.

      Christian novels really do preach to the choir. I wouldn’t mind them if more of them were challenging, but it seems like the last of the truly thought-provoking Christian novelists ended with C.S. Lewis. When was the last time someone else wrote a book like The Screwtape Letters or The Great Divorce.

  3. “Doesn’t pray a lot, but talks to God with every line in every book I write.”
    Oh my. Thank you.
    I have often felt guilt for not being a person who gets down on my knees and prays an hour or six a day. And I’m going to be a missionary, am I?
    And yet what you say is a precise description of how I write.

    1. My books have a lot of my beliefs in them, but at times I feel slightly guilty like — should God be in them more than He is? Then I realize, He is in them. He’s in me, and I’m writing this book, so we’re co-authoring it together. He has taught me SO MUCH through writing. I tackle hard things, I ask hard questions, and always by the end — He gives me an answer.

    1. Sadly, I have found this to be true. I have many thoughts on Christian fiction but haven’t shared them because it would offend a huge chunk of my readers. But yes, I think in large part, a lot of novelists drop the ball. Granted, there’s bad secular fiction too, so it’s a general decrease in quality all across the board, but … can we have a good, solid book with real problems in it, and a villain who isn’t just trying to steal the heroine’s father’s ranch? Please?

      (For some reason, I’d never clicked on your username before and seen your blog! I spent a good chunk of yesterday afternoon reading it while waiting somewhere, but couldn’t answer because I was on an I-Phone. I’m going to follow your blog and comment — you have a lot of good things to say!)

      1. Thanks! Mostly we’re just trying to build a writer’s “platform” before we publish later this year.

        And I stopped reading the “Little-House-on-the-Prarie-type” novels a LONG time ago…well, make that all novels where the chief aim is romance (Jane Austen is an exception). Can’t stand them.

  4. “Sucks you in with my serious demeanor, only to turn into a funny, mischievous troublemaker.” I’ve been thinking about this one lately, how I probably give a bad first impression compared to who people find out I am after they get to know me. It’s caused me to work harder at giving people a more accurate first impression of myself. It’s more work, but I think it will probably pay off at some point.

    1. Good for you! I find that… difficult. I’m really wary of people and reserved when I first meet them, so it’s hard for me to open up and be my funny, sarcastic, I’ll-find-every-contradition-in-your-argument-I-can-self. But I need to work on bringing that out sooner, so people stop keeling over from the shock. 😉

Share Your Thoughts

