Writing Projects

stk161277rke

One thing I’m not great at is self-promotion. I’m the sort of person who lives a quiet life and doesn’t appreciate others forcing themselves or their stuff on me, so I’m reluctant to be perceived as someone who does it to others. That being said, to succeed at authoring, I have to self promote and one way to do that is to keep people informed on my current writing projects. I have two in the “editing” stage, several in the “needs revision” stage, and one in the “currently in progress” stage.

I’ve decided not to do a “series” in the usual sense, but all of my books will have a common theme—elements of what you might call “magic,” or you could refer to as “spiritual gifts.” (That’s kind of my theme… the idea that you could enhance spiritual gifts as magic in of itself.) Even Claudia is a dream seer, after all! If you choose to continue reading my books, you’ll find tactile telepaths, prophets, “guardians” with influence over the elements, empaths, and many more. You will even see references to earlier or later characters in different books, even though they may be set in different time periods. (That always delights me when I read something by the same author, so why not do it?)

Anyway, here’s what I’m working on at the moment:

Nearly Finished:

lotrNonfiction: Watching The Lord of the Rings With God

Many years ago, when the films first came out, I ran a very popular website that dealt with taking each scene from the movies and talking about spiritual parallels and things that could be learned from it. Over time, I became too busy to keep it up, so I wound up closing the site but keeping all my information. I considered compiling it in book form over the years but it never felt “right.” I tried the long version, but it was too long. I tried a short version, and trusted friends said it no longer “had a soul.” So, I found a compromise – a witty, fun conversation between a narrator (yours truly) and God, as they sit and watch the movies together.

Preliminary editing is done, it just needs a final go-over. I hope to release it in mid-October.

Fiction: Thornewicke

It seems to be a trend these days that I wind up writing books over three times—the initial long version, a shorter and funnier version, and finally a compromise of shorter but in a more serious vein. This is a Victorian novel with a twist of “fantasy,” revolving around a young woman sent to live with her mysterious aunt in the northern woods. There, she discovers unexpected things about herself and others, meets and befriends the inventor Nikola Tesla, and fights with one of my nastiest villains, Julian Musgrave. He’s awesome. But I suspect a kind of awesome only a mother… err… author could love.

Again, this one is in the editing process (about 50% done) so you should see it before Christmas. I’m aiming for mid-November.

Needs Revision:

My earlier works, including Sins of the Fathers (a Georgian novel that reaches from India to the Colonies to Jamaica and back to England, which needs shortened by about 100k words), Isabella’s Daughter (a novel about Katharine of Aragon that I intend to shorten, change into first-person, and expound on through a supernatural twist), and The Face at the Window (a Napoleonic novel).

In Progress:

titanic

Fiction: Unnamed Titanic Novel

One of the first books I ever wrote was about the Titanic. I was an obsessed fifteen year old immersed in the tragedy for months on end. It’s sat in a “word file” for fifteen years while I moved on to other projects, but my fascination with the incident, the people on board, and the characters I created never faded. I’ve taken the main character out of it and am writing an entirely new adventure around him, which begins in Belfast in 1911 with the “launch” of Titanic’s hull and revolves around supernatural gifts and events, a twenty-year-old mystery, and a twist ending.

I’ve written about 18,000 words in the last week and a half, so I should be finished with it in plenty of time to have it out next spring before the annual anniversary of the disaster. My goal is to have it out in mid-March.

Nonfiction: Watching The Hobbit With God

I may consider doing this when all three films are out, if my first book meets with relative success.

So, my many writing-readers… what are YOU working on?

26 Replies to “Writing Projects”

  1. My novel, which I am brainstorming in my head right now, is either going to be set in Regency Era or Victorian Era England, about a love story between an Irish-born vicar and his best childhood friend, a rich man’s daughter. However, a sleazy rake-ish rich guy tries to break it up.

  2. Your writing projects sound exciting Charity, best of luck with them! 😀 \o/

    I’m only working on 2 at the moment = my novel (whoo-hoo! Ever so slowly getting through that second draft (a first for me); there’s a lot that needs to be filled in, rearranged, rewritten but it’s progress) and this sort of compilation project (I want to say short stories but many of them are actually incomplete and are more like fragments; my brother was sort of side-eyeing me some time ago when he typed some of them out for me because I left them all at cliffhangers and he hates that :D)

  3. Wow! These all look amazing, and I didn’t even know about The Face at the Window 😀 😀 😀 We already know that Thornewicke is going to be awesome. While the excerpts I’ve seen of Sins of the Father and Isabella’s Daughter are intriguing to say the least. Jamaica is somewhere you don’t see often as a setting! And can we expect this to be first of your Catholic Queens trilogy? 😉 But seriously in most Tudor novels, its Anne Boleyn and Elizabeth who get all the attention, Katharine only appears as an afterthought, a gloomy figure hovering in the background. It’s rare to see a sympathetic, much less first person perspective!

    Now I’m more of a Narnia gal, than a Lord of the Rings gal, but I’ve still been looking forward to this one ever since you mentioned it, because who doesn’t have rambling conversations and crazy thoughts in their head when they watch movies? I mean, all normal people do that…right? 😉

    1. I’m sure there’s a few books up my sleeves you haven’t heard about. I finished my first proof-read of Thornewicke last night. It’s surprisingly decent. I just need to polish the first chapter a little more, and read through it on Kindle. So.. it may come out before my LotR book does, simply because it’s finished first.

      Poor Katharine gets ignored far too much, because Anne was the spitfire. They forget that Katharine knew how to play the game better than her husband did. She gave him seven years of political hell before he finally gave up and dumped her in a castle somewhere. Remarkable woman. Remarkable faith. I’m not sure I could encourage my ladies to pray for Anne Boleyn the way she did.

      Half the time when watching a movie, my brain isn’t firing at all. I think it can reach a point where it just shuts off. LOL

  4. I’m so glad you posted this. There are so many books here I want to read (Thornewicke, Isabella’s Daughter, Sins of the Fathers). I’m also planning to get Claudia as soon as I can.
    BTW, I am amazed at how you are so detailed. How do you decide how long it’s going to take you to finish your books?
    I just finished writing a book set in a 15th century fictional country about a young puppet king manipulated by others (which I will eventually start editing).
    I am in the process of writing a short story that retells the Beauty and the Beast fairy tale in 17th century Joseon (historical Korea).
    And I’m planning on rewriting another story set in Joseon, this time with a time-traveler who goes back to the 18th century.

    1. It’s always nice to know there’s someone out there willing to read what I write! That encourages me to keep moving forward. 🙂

      Since I’m a goal-oriented person, I try and keep myself to a reasonable timeline so I finish books relatively quickly. I can write a book in six months or less. My first version of “Claudia,” I wrote in four. Revision and editing takes a couple of months (several weeks for me, several for my proof-reader).

      Ooh, both your 15th century novel and a retold B&tB story sound awesome! If you ever print them, let me know! I want to read them both! 🙂

  5. I really want to read your LOTR books now. 🙂

    As far as my current writing projects, my INFP sister and I (an INTJ) are in the middle of writing book two of our fantasy series called The Enchanted Saga, which sort of retells the classic fairy tales in a Celtic-type world. We’re currently seeking agent representation for Poisoned (loosely based on Snow White), the first novel in the series–however, we are also considering self-publishing through Createspace. Book 2, Cursed (Snow White), should have a completed first draft within the next few months. We make a good writing team: Marie does all the romantic scenes and the scenes with lots of dialogue, and I do all the active and descriptive scenes.

    I also have the first book of a sci-fi trilogy that I started after high school, but those books are on hold until I get out of college and finish the other series with my sister.

    1. Yay! Maybe I’ll sell three copies instead of two. 😉

      Your writing technique intrigues me — I can see how working together would allow you advanced planning (the “N” you share), while you would have a more rational / logical approach to events (T) and she could warm up the characterizations (F). Do you find that she makes you more “adventurous” when you write together (the P), or do you ground her in an overall “structured” way?

      Your books sound awesome. If you do self-publish, let me know. I want to read them!

      Sci-fi is hard to write, so I admire your ability to do it!

      1. Thanks! I just realized that I made a typo…Cursed is based on Sleeping Beauty, not Snow White. #grammarnazishame 😦

        I wouldn’t say that my sister makes me more adventurous, necessarily, but she definitely softens my writing style. I tend to write in a gritty, hardcore, “just the facts, ma’am” kind of way, whereas she would have all our characters off dancing in the clouds eating ice cream with fairies and unicorns in a couple chapters if I didn’t chain them to reality (albeit the reality of our own creation). She provides the “fairytale-ness” to the story, I provide the driving force of the plot, and we split the characters between us (after sorting them into Hogwarts houses and figuring out their MBTI). We’ve developed a happy medium between the two. 🙂

        And yes, sci-fi is hard to write. I had been building that universe for five years before I finally finished the novel. So many character histories, cultures, political shiftings, religions, economies, space travel, etc., to sort out into rationality before I could even set a pen to paper. I find that in order to write something, I have to understand it thoroughly–I was hung up for a while because I couldn’t figure out a way to make the space travel feasible without breaking 700 laws of physics. Fantasy is a lot easier…you get to make the rules of the world.

  6. Wow, you are super busy! And I will buy “Claudia,” but need to watch the finances, so maybe in a couple of weeks. ::fingers crossed::

    I am querying agents on a Historical Romance set in 1840’s America, but no luck thus far. My new WIP is a YA set in Nazi occupied Poland in WWII.

    1. I hope you enjoy it, when you do get to read it. (Please leave me a review on Amazon! It doesn’t even have to be long!)

      Good luck in your querying! It can be really disheartening. I went through eight months of queries / requests to read more / and rejections, but remember that even if they say no, that doesn’t mean you can’t still be an author.

      Where is your 1840’s story set? 🙂

  7. I am working on editing. Sadness. My interests entirely lie with writing the first draft, and thereafter I just want the book to be complete and perfect and not require too much additional work. But my 600-page epic written in 2005 needs a good deal of work if it’s to be publishable, and it’s the first of my theological science fiction series I want published, so edited it must be.
    I’m also in the uncomfortable space between books. I’ve just finished writing the first draft of a wild science fiction fairy tale, and now I’m in the place of wanting to write another and don’t know which of a thousand ideas to go with.

    1. I used to do that. That’s how I wound up with very long books that were somewhat hard to read. Editing is a good thing! It may not be fun at first (or even later…) but it’s good to let something sit awhile and then go back to it with fresh eyes.

      Having many ideas and no sure focus of where to start simply means you write down all your ideas and pick one at random out of a jar. Hehe.

        1. Heh. That happens. You’ll be all “I’m gonna write this story…” and then one of your characters will kick your front door in, strike a pose, and say, “UH HUH, DO ME!” =D

  8. Exciting stuff, Charity. Lovin’ these updates and am anxiously awaiting many of them. Plus I am super glad you are writing about Titanic – that is a subject, I know you are quite fond of and I think you’ll write a terrific book on it. 🙂

    Best of luck.

    1. Well, thank you. I hope it’s a terrific book. The true tragedy of picking that topic is you’re going to lose the historical figures that died in the disaster, and that’s hard to write about, once you’ve come to love them.

  9. Hi! I’ve only followed your site for a little bit when I stumbled across when I googled “why does no one like INTJs” on a particularly miserable day 🙂 So fun to find another female Christian INTJ writer what are the odds of that!….and you said somewhere that INTJs would probably not write romance………..well, I’m one strange INTJ! And Romance writing IS like the hardest thing possible–I wanted a challenge and I think I picked the most challenging genre for me ever! But I kinda view it as self-therapy, if I can conjure up the emotion to get it on the page, maybe it will become natural to myself one day????……probably just a dream. Anyway. I’m working on Book #2 of my series. My free ebook novella with Bethany House comes out tomorrow and my Novel comes out Sept 1 and I’m having a baby sometime soon. I’m quite busy with the writing projects! Need to start on plotting Book #3 real soon!

    Your Thornwicke novel sounds intersting.

    1. Thanks for commenting, Melissa! I checked your website out. Those are beautiful covers! I’ll have to pick up your novella and read it, even though romance isn’t really my thing! Congratulations on getting published, too! That’s hard! My stuff tends to be too controversial for many Christian agents and publishers, and too religious for secular ones, so I wound up going the Kindle route.

      I admire your tenacity in writing romance, even though INTJs aren’t naturally “romantic” by nature. I often have a romantic subplot in my books, but am always second-guessing it, wondering if the build-up is taking too long or if it’s convincing. I actually hate writing it so much that I postponed the love interest for as many pages as I could in one of my earlier novels. I felt that he was so defined as a character, it would take an immense amount of character-building for her to seem “worthy” of him to the reader.

      1. Yeah, my husband and I laugh that I write romance, because of course as an INTJ I am soooooo not romantic in real life! I do have a crit partner that is a romantic kind of girl that I rely on. The rest of the writing craft I’ve gotten a good handle on, but her main crit comments are almost always along the lines of “you must write more emotion here, he just lost his girl for goodness sakes!” and that’s usually what my macro edits consist of “make this emotional change more gradual” etc. I get better and better at figuring out where to put emotions myself as time goes by, but I’m certainly not sure I’ll ever be able to get it just right for feelers without help! But that would probably be in any genre, since emotions occur everywhere, but yeah, romance is an “emotional ride” so I’m certainly challenging myself. But still fun.

        I could definitely see how your spiritual gifts fantasy series would be hard to place in trad publishing. And it IS hard to get in, it’s a tons of work, networking, and then totally having God stick his foot in at the right time!

        1. I find long lasting love romantic — like the end of “The Notebook,” where they die in one another’s arms. But romanticism when it comes to sappy stuff and poetry, I don’t understand. I spent the entire two hours of the movie “Bright Star” wanting to slap everyone.

          Ironically, I’m writing about an empath at the moment who feels other people’s emotions and can influence them in turn. So… here I am, dealing with emotion again! 😛

      2. Count me as one INTJ who is a romantic. But then, I do have an extremely well developed F.
        But I don’t tend to like *just* romance. I require depth and plot.
        I’m also interested in your Thornewicke story, mainly for Tesla and your baddie.

Share Your Thoughts

