books

That’s the feeling I had reading a book the other day with historical characters I’ve also written about in it. Who are you? Who gave you permission to play with my characters? What do you think you’re doing?!

Fact of the matter is, writing about someone makes them real to the author. You get to know them, love them (or hate them), and feel possessive about them.

Some of you may have noticed I can be a bit … um… intense about Lucius Pontius Pilate.

Well, that’s because he’s mine… sort of. I wrote a book about him at 17. I published a few copies. People liked it. Since I wanted to pursue traditional publishing with other books, I yanked it for awhile.

After banging around in the literary world for many months, I started wondering, do I want to be a big name brand published author? Do I want to land a six book deal? Do I want to write the same sorts of books for the rest of my life?

The answer was – nope.

I’m an Introvert. I don’t want to do book signings, and book tours, and book interviews. I don’t want to write about the same characters all the time. I write them, I get to know them, I finish their story, and I move on. I don’t even write the same kind of book twice. I bounce around between historical epics to fantasy novels to murder mysteries. I write fiction. I write nonfiction. I write editorials, articles, reviews, and novels.

In short, I’m every agent’s worst nightmare, with a dose of chocolate on the side.

Long story made short? Over the next couple of years, my books will hit Kindle and POD (Print on Demand — paperback).

iclaudiaminiFirst up is my revised, shortened, and polished take on Claudia Procula – the wife of Pontius Pilate, Governor of Judea.

(Coming in mid August to your e-reader!)

It doesn’t start or end in Israel. It follows Pilate’s early military and political career like a Roman invasion, hits all the high points of his time in Judea, and throws into your path such historical figures as Caligula, Tiberius, Herod, Lazarus, Martha, and Jesus. It deals with prophetic nightmares, political intrigue, bitter rivalries… and you’ll never guess what happens to Barabbas!

It’s I, Claudia, and it’ll change your views on Pontius Pilate forever.

Stay tuned for more information, sneak peek chapters, and giveaways!

In case Biblical fiction isn’t to your taste, here’s a glimpse of what else is coming up in 2013…

A heroine who doesn’t understand the full extent of her magical powers, a sword-carrying minister who can draw out the souls of the dead, a famous inventor hidden away in the woods, and a villain who can trap you in your dreams collide in Thornewicke, a Victorian fantasy novel with a twist.

If you think you have all the symbolism in The Lord of the Rings movies figured out, think again! Chapter by chapter, peruse the hidden meanings in the characters, events, and places of Middle-earth… by Watching The Lord of the Rings with God.

Thank you for taking this journey with me! God bless you all!