Get to Know… Lindy!

Gone With the Wind 70th Anniversary

Lindy is one of our new writers! You can find her blog here.

Name: Lindy Abbott

Personality Type: ENFP Extravert(44%)  iNtuitive(50%)  Feeling(12%)  Perceiving(67)%
•    You have moderate preference of Extraversion over Introversion (44%)
•    You have moderate preference of Intuition over Sensing (50%)
•    You have slight preference of Feeling over Thinking (12%)
•    You have distinctive preference of Perceiving over Judging (67%)

What do you love most about yourself? that I never meet a stranger. I love people and treat people from all walks of life alike, as they are God’s priceless treasure deserving of love and respect.

What would you most like to change about yourself? working very hard on being better organized. I am not a good manager of time, resources or life in general.

Gone With the Wind 70th AnniversaryFavorite Fictional Character & why: Scarlett O’Hara, I love that she is a women with grit, that does what must be done to make it through the hardest of times, the makes mistakes but learns to adapt them into her life, takes responsibility for herself and others when needed and that fights when others quit to not only survive but thrive. My favorite scene is when she takes the soil of Tara into her hands and has her epiphany:

As God as my witness….as God as my witness they’re
not going to lick me. I’m going to live through this
and when it’s all over, I’ll never be hungry again.
No, nor any of my folk. If I have to lie, steal,
cheat, or kill, as God as my witness, I’ll never be
hungry again.

Name one possession that you absolutely love: my wedding ring that I got for my 25th anniversary. It is a unique piece from an estate collection at a local jewelry store. I simply love it and love every-time I see it on my hand because it reminds me of my husband and our marriage.

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?
Mary, the mother of Jesus. I would love to talk with her about become the mother of God at such a young age, to have an angel visit, to feel her womb kick when John jumped in Elizabeth, to think she lost the son of God, to witness his first miracle of water turned to wine, to watch him preach, teach and heal, and to witness the horror of having your son –God’s son– dying on the cross, and to then see him be resurrected and understand he died for her sins. Oh, I would love to talk with Mary… it might even help me to be a better mother, wife, woman and sister in the Lord.

Tell us three of your “guilty pleasures”: Fancy coffee drinks (large!/venti), Waffle bowl of coffee/dark chocolate mix ice cream with toffee candy and chocolate sprinkles on top, and a warm soaking tub of water with a great book for at least one hour.

Name one thing (book, song, movie, item) you wish you had thought up first: Post-it notes!!! I love them!

Share several of your favorite quotes with us: To live is Jesus and to die is gain. St. Paul, I regret that I have just one life to give. Patrick Henry,

What memory is the most special to you and why? Being older my memory is short, so I will say the trip we had to FL most recently for vacation. It is special in many ways but this is our second year to the same location and we agree as a family that we have finally found a location to return to yearly. This thrills me because we have few family traditions. The beach is a rental that is directly on the side of 5 multi-million dollar private beach homes so in effect we also have a private beach. The time there is so peaceful and I love creating memories with my family.

Who is your favorite actor/actress? What was the first film you saw them in? Emily Blunt – Devil Wears Prada

“I would never get tired of talking about…”? God, and the Bible

If you could own any animal as a pet, what would it be? I am not a real big pet person. I love animals but the thought of them being a pet is not endearing to me. I love to watch gorillas, pandas,  big fish, elephants, wild horses, birds take flight, etc. I am an animal watcher – not a pet keeper.

One miniseries or television show everyone needs to try out at least once:
Ministry – Charles Stanley – He is my favorite minister on TV.
Television Show – Psych

3 Replies to “Get to Know… Lindy!”

  1. Nice to meet you, Lindy!

    I love Scarlett, too. I really should reread Gone with the Wind; I’ve only read it once.

    Mmm, any ice cream is my weakness, but yours sounds yummy. Care to share? 😉

    I love Psych! I can’t wait till the latest season makes its way to Netflix.

  2. Hello, Lindy! What a pleasure to meet you – welcome to Femnista! 🙂

    Oooh! Yes, love coffee drinks; Starbucks being the best of the best. It’s one of the things my family always makes time for when we go into the “city” for a shopping trip. It’s not a day out without one.

    Just started watching ‘Psych’ on a recommendation and it is HILARIOUS! Love how Shawn always pushes things off on Gus and Gus’ adorable geeky-ness. 😉

Share Your Thoughts

