Digging into Disney: The Hunchback of Notre Dame

I  thought I’d do something different this time and give you a visual review instead of a blog post! (Oooh, you get to hear Charity’s sarcasm first hand?! Cool!)

I’m here today to talk about one of the more controversial Disney movies, The Hunchback of Notre Dame! Growing up, it was always a favorite of mine because I loved looking for the religious symbolism…

13 Replies to “Digging into Disney: The Hunchback of Notre Dame”

  1. Very well done, Charity. Enjoyed this a lot. Bravo!

    It’s been an age since I saw this movie. And even at that, it may have only been once.

    1. Thank you, glad you gave it a watch. It was a lot of fun to do. Dad said, “That’s great — do an adult movie next time!” Hmm…

      ONCE?! TRAVESTY! MUST BE REMEDIED! 😉

      1. Well… for what it’s worth, I don’t think the subject matters; I loved the topic/video and your excitement came through really well! Glad you shared – no matter what your dad says. 😉

        I know, right!? I think my cousins gave it to us (to borrow) years ago and I haven’t seen it since.

        1. Oh, he loved it! But he’d like to see me do something more serious than a Disney flick. (I already have my funny voice-over for B&TB. I ought to to Les Mis or something.)

  2. #1 I loved your voice! It’s not at all what I imagined, and you did a very good job with no ums or uhhs or other little pauses.

    #2 You presented your points perfectly. I knew all these arguments, but it was fun to listen to you with the backdrop of the movie and the soundtrack playing softly.

    #3 This was a fun way to present your review of your movie, and since many people have such a short attention span, I think this would hold them until the end.

    1. 1) I’m not someone who says “um” but editing is nice to clean up fumbled words. 😉

      2) Thank you!

      3) Good! That’s what I wanted. Give them a visual, something to look at — and keep it short. A lot of visual reviews are too long!

  3. This was great! I love reading your reviews – they’re so succinct and encapsulate the points so well – but having the added bonus of vocal tone is awesome. I loved hearing your enthusiasm as you squealed over things, and the jokes rang out better too. The video editing was nicely done too.

  4. Wow! I’ve never actually watched this movie. But now you make me want to, simply to find all the symbolism you mentioned. 😀 I love how passionate you sounded when talking about what you loved about it. (I mean that as a compliment. Hope it came out that way. 🙂 Plus you make some excellent points! Bravo!

    1. Thank you! It was fun to do although I wound up rewriting it twice, since the first time through my usual monotone made it a snore-fest. 😉

      You should watch it! It’s surprisingly good for a Disney film.

Share Your Thoughts

