Too Much Stuff?

cute cat camera

Yesterday, I cleaned my house. I shampooed the carpet in my room. I scrubbed the sinks. I moved furniture and swept under it.

Then, I turned around and did the same thing to my computer. I went through and deleted a bunch of stuff I no longer need. I got rid of old files, stuff I hadn’t looked at in ages, pictures I didn’t want anymore, and so forth. I “put away” (organized into folders) everything that was left, and then emptied the trash.

Sometimes, life is all about getting rid of stuff you don’t need anymore. Call it “unwanted baggage,” or “resonances of a different life.” It’s the stuff you hang onto even if you don’t need it anymore – guilt, resentment, bad memories, relationships you really should walk away from. But for some reason, we don’t like doing that. We feel safer owning that old t-shirt three sizes too small than we would chucking it into the trash. What we know is easier than what we don’t – the unknown is scary stuff.

But just like a house functions better if you can actually get around in it, and a compute runs faster if it’s not loaded down with “crap,” your life works better when you get rid of “old stuff.” I’m not talking about valuable stuff, but the stuff that just weighs you down, stuff you haven’t dealt with and don’t want to, stuff that lurks in the back of your mind like an overflowing closet, reminding you how bad you are at… relationships… moving on… facing forward.

This is Holy Week. It reminds us of Christ’s journey to the cross. He went without any stuff, and once there, He took on OUR stuff, so we don’t have to hang onto it. Like the hero in Pilgrim’s Progress, once faced with the cross, we’re supposed to drop our burden and move forward in total confidence that we are loved.

Get rid of your stuff, the resonances of your old life. Trust me, you won’t miss it.

4 Replies to “Too Much Stuff?”

  1. Thanks, Charity. I needed to read this. Not only do I have physical clutter I need to purge, but I have some spiritual things I need to get rid of. I always love Easter because I am reminded in so many ways that God loves me and wants the best for me.

  2. Love this! I plan to do a clear out asap 🙂 I don’t really have a lot anyway ( no room) but its amazing how things can accumulate. The same goes for our spirit/ soul/body. Making space and getting rid of the dross allows room for God to pour more of His good stuff into our lives…

  3. Yes, indeed, how right you are, my friend. I have plenty of de-cluttering to do upstairs. And am quite proud of myself for NOT pulling out any of the books I’ve set aside to get rid off. It’s a great feeling!

  4. AMEN. I’ve been doing a TON of housecleaning this week…I think you’re on to something…it is no coincidence that the urge to de-clutter is hitting now.

Share Your Thoughts

