Get to Know… Veronica!

i capture the castle

Name: Veronica Leigh

Personality Type: INTJ.

What do you love most about yourself?

My analytical mind, but it can also be a curse too.

What would you most like to change about yourself?

I am an incessant worrier, so it would be nice to change that.

Favorite Fictional Character & why:

Cassandra Mortmain from “I Capture the Castle.” She is so brave and imaginative.

Name one possession that you absolutely love:

My lap desk.

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?

Sophie Scholl. She is one of my heroines. She stood up for what she believed despite all opposition.

Tell us three of your “guilty pleasures”:

Chocolate.

Iced Coffee.

Cheesecake.

Name one thing (book, song, movie, item) you wish you had thought up first:

the help

“The Help,” Kathryn Stockett.

Share several of your favorite quotes with us:

“If you want to make God laugh, tell Him your plans.”

“All evil needs to triumph is for good man to sit and do nothing.”- Sir Edmund Burke.

“Always be a first rate version of yourself, rather than a second rate version of somebody else.”- Judy Garland.

“Science only goes so far, then comes God.”- “The Notebook.”

What memory is the most special to you and why?

It’s difficult to specify just one, but any memory with my family is special to me. In the past we use to go window shopping at antique shops and we always had a blast doing that. It’s the small things that are the most memorable.

Who is your favorite actor / actress? What was the first film you saw them in?

tammy

Tammy Blanchard. She was first in “Guiding Light,” but became my favorite when I saw “Bella.”

“I would never get tired of talking about…”?

The Holocaust. There can never be enough said about the subject.

If you could own any animal as a pet, what would it be?

A Pomeranian. They look so cute.

One miniseries or television show everyone needs to try out at least once:

“Downton Abbey.” If you hadn’t seen it yet, you are missing out.

17 Replies to “Get to Know… Veronica!”

  1. Hi Veronica, nice to meet you! *waves*

    Chocolate, iced coffee and cheesecake sounds good right about now (all of which I don’t have right now, lol–well, except for making some coffee. Not iced though).

    I have yet to watch the adaptation but I enjoyed reading I Capture the Castle a few years ago 🙂

  2. Hello, Veronica! How lovely to meet you – so happy to see you here. 🙂

    Love your first quote – it’s so sweet.

    “I Capture the Castle” is a unique film and one that I really would like to see again. Romola is such a fabulous talent.

    ‘Downton’ rules! Love that series for so many reasons.

    Oh! And your Femnista article? It was lovely! 🙂

    1. Hey, nice to meet you, I’m so glad to get to know you all. I live by that quote. It follows me everywhere. Yes, Romola is one of those under appreciated actresses. I saw “Daniel Deronda” not long ago and though her character was complicated, I couldn’t help but like her.
      Thank you!

  3. “I Capture The Castle” is magnificent, both book and movie. But I will always maintain that it desperately needs a sequel in which (trying to avoid spoilers here) the person who goes to the place at the end instead of doing the thing that so obviously should have been done comes back and does the thing, after a certain amount of drama and misunderstandings and so forth, of course. Maybe I’ll write it myself one of these days. *hrmph*

  4. Hi Veronica! * waves * Yay–someone else who likes–or well, maybe not “likes”–but thinks the study of the Holocaust is important. The story of Sophie Scholl and her friends in the White Rose is heartbreaking 😦 .One thing that’s always struck me, and I’ve discussed this with a few friends–it’s easy–or at least understandable, to decide to resist if you were Polish, Dutch, French, Norwegian etc;, and your country was invaded. But what if you were German (and to a somewhat lesser extent Austrian or another German speaking nation) and the evil was coming from your own country???

    My own favorite hero of the German Resistance is Kurt Gerstein.

    I haven’t seen I Capture the Castle, but I keep seeing so many (awesome!) people mention it–now I’ll have to check it out!

    I love the Judy Garland quote.

    Out of curiosity–why do you wish you’d been the first to think up The Help?

    1. Yeah, I’ve been obsessed with the holocaust ever since my aunt gave me Anne Frank’s diary. Can’t escape it now. I hear what you’re saying; it would be hard to defy your country for the sake of your conscience. They were considered traitors and treasonous.
      Have you ever seen the movie “Amen?” It is about Kurt Gerstein. Really good and sad, of course.
      I just love “The Help.” I’d like to write something that dynamic. She really shed a light on piece of history that is overlooked.

    1. I gotta ask–which is worse–the worrying or the analyzing–or is it sorta cyclical–with one leading to another?

      1. Having an analytical mind, you know all the potential bad outcomes to any given situation in addition to the good ones… so I’d say one feeds off the other.

        For example: meeting a friend for a movie.

        Good outcome: we both arrive on time, without any problems.

        Bad outcomes:
        one or both get stuck in traffic
        car accident
        someone is late / misses the movie showtime
        someone gets lost
        car gets crunched in parking lot
        car won’t start now or later
        movie sucks

        Etc. Etc. Welcome to my life. 😉

Share Your Thoughts

