Charity’s Creative Stuff Dump

warm bodies

Driving into town yesterday, fretting about something, God said to me, “Stop being afraid of who you are. Stop thinking you need to apologize for who I made you to be. Stop thinking you need to hide your opinions. Stop being ashamed of being a Christian in secular circles.”

So, I’m not going to be ashamed anymore. I’m not going to be fearful that who I am, and what I say, is going to somehow prevent me from becoming who I want to be, and having the success I want to achieve. Either others will accept me for who I am, or they won’t. But… this is who I am, and here are some of my recent writings:

January Reviews for Charity’s Place:

Anna Karenina (2012)
Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters (2012)
Hyde Park on Hudson (2012)
Into the West (2005)
Les MisΓ©rables (2012)
Les MisΓ©rables (1978)
Seraphim Falls (2006)
Treasure Island (2012)

Recent Reviews for Christian Spotlight: (yes, they are different)

Anna Karenina (2012)
Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters (2012)
Warm Bodies (2013)

Recent Oneshots:

Vampire Diaries: Rage (Elijah reacts to events in last episode)
Les Miserables: Gutter Rats (Non-romantic, Javert/Eponine)
Les Miserables: Leap (Javert’s final moments)

Recent Music Videos:

Harry Potter: Fighter

Have a blessed weekend and enjoy the Super Bowl. I’ll be sitting in a theater watching a live theatrical production — which is so much better, in my mind.

21 Replies to “Charity’s Creative Stuff Dump”

          1. Oops, sorry:

            American Civil Rights:

            “The Fifth Amendment protects witnesses from being forced to incriminate themselves. The privilege against compelled self-incrimination is defined as “the constitutional right of a person to refuse to answer questions or otherwise give testimony against himself or herself…..”[34] To “plead the Fifth” is to refuse to answer a question because the response could provide self-incriminating evidence”

            In other words… yes, that moment of the film did influence my fanfic. πŸ˜‰

  1. Wow! I just wanna say that your blog was like the 2nd site I decided to check this morning, and this post struck me. As it’s something I’ve been struggling with lately. I don’t want to become known as the “bible thumper”. I have always despised the sort of Christian who seems to be dripping with Bible verses. But at the same time–we ought never to lie about the fact that we are Christians–nor hide it.

    I had no idea you wrote for Christian Answers :O I’ll have to take a look!

    Have a good weekend! I’ve never really cared for the Superbowl, though I don’t begrudge those who do enjoy it. The best part is probably the commercials–have you ever seen the “cat herding” commercial? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_MaJDK3VNE

    1. Exactly. I got to wondering if me being a Christian all over the place online might hamper my shot at publishing fantasy novels. God slapped me upside the head and said, “Knock it off, stop being ashamed of yourself and Me.” =P

      I do, occasionally — I’ve actually reviewed quite a few things for them over the years!

      YES! I LOVE THE CAT HERDING COMMERCIAL. “It’s one of the hardest, but the most rewarding things I’ve ever done…”

      1. Yeah! I think it’s a fine line–because I don’t want to be the sort of annoying Christian I’ve occasionally encountered online. But I refuse to hide my light under a bush. Bushel. OK that verse always verse always confused me as a child πŸ˜›

        But in all seriousness, I know enough friends who have struggled with this issue that it’d be cool if you wrote a post on it!

        I think the problem arises because on the one hand, we know our perceptions, morality etc; is going to be sometimes subtly, sometimes radically different from that of the “mainstream.” And we are not ashamed of that (or hopefully not?). But then sometimes you encounter those wince inducing Bible thumping types. You know the kind. Their profiles and signatures drip with a profusion of Bible verses. Not just one or two tasteful ones. They’ve always attended the latest seminar about getting closer to God, and read the latest best-seller on Christian living. When someone posts a problem in an online forum, they chime in, not with sympathy or advice, but with a smug or condemning remark about they’ve never understood people who have this problem, and never had trouble with the issue of _____ etc;

        When it comes to my writing actually, I’d never worried about that! (Though I’ll confess I’d be more worried about prospective employers discovering my conservative tendencies–so I do get what you mean. Not to mention stories of people being harassed due to their political and religious affiliations 😦 ) To me, one’s works ought to be able to speak for themselves. If the publisher was interested before they knew you were Christian, there is no reason for them to change their mind upon learning your beliefs. Then again, I feel like lines are being drawn in the sand. People equate “homophobia” with racism, and even once stalwart groups like the Boy Scouts are crumbling. (Meanwhile, articles like these have me very worried : http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-pedophiles-20130115,0,5292424,full.story & http://gawker.com/5941037 )

        What?! And you’re only just now linking us πŸ˜› ? Someone’s being way too modest πŸ˜‰ . A lot of my friends use Christian Answers though–so it was cool to discover you’re one of the reviewers!

        Yes–the scary thing is I always find myself a bit sad it’s not real. Cat herding seems like it would be a fun occupation πŸ˜‰

        1. I would write a post about it — if I knew what the answer was! Scripture tells us that not only are we to hide our little lights, we’re going to be persecuted in Jesus’ name. No one wants to be hated. No one wants to be mocked. No one wants to paint a big target on their back that says “shoot here.” Yet, in our modern, bigot-driven society, being a public Christian is doing exactly that — asking for abuse. So a lot of us do hide, or water down our opinion, or behave no differently from anyone else.

          Pride… befalls a lot of Christians. I ought to know, I’ve been there, done that, right down to the having no sympathy for people’s plights (granted, it’s part of the natural make-up of my personality type: you created this mess, why should I feel sorry for you?). But yes, the Bible-thumping variety of believer makes life a lot harder for the rest of us. And yet, I’ve found out that true evangelism is all about personal connections. If you are true to who you are, and to who your Lord is, when someone who knows you, who can trust you, who has benefited from you doing your best in the name of the Lord, is confronted with anti-Christian rhetoric, they’re going to say, “I know one, and she’s not at all like that.” Our goal should be to be the finest person anyone we meet has ever known.

          I’m… very active, both in what I believe and in my politics. But, at the end of the day, what publishing is about is selling books — it shouldn’t be about who I am as a person, or what my belief system is. (Although I’m just waiting for the day I do print a fantasy book, and then get ganged up on by a bunch of Christians who don’t like what I write. It’s always nice to get turned on by your own kind!)

          Ahh, yes, the pedophile debate. I’m not at all surprised — I’ve been expecting that. Once you accept one type of perversion, the next demands equal rights too. Where does it end? In the depravity of Ancient Rome. That went really well, which is why they’re all still around… oh, wait, they’re not. Oops.

          Ha, ha… I just looked up my name on Christian Answers and… wow, I’ve reviewed a lot more movies for them than I remember! As for not linking you… um… it’s always felt kind of… egocentric to say, “Look what I just did!” I suppose that sounds contradictory, though, considering I have a website and a blog. =P

          Cat herding is fun. You should try it sometime. I do it regularly when trying to track down mine! πŸ˜‰

  2. Hey you have no reason to apologize for who you are! Be bold! Besides, you’re pretty great….and anyone who doesn’t get that (or the Who behind it) has a problem

    And you could come to my house for yummy Super Bowl food πŸ˜‰ That can sometimes be better than the game….and I love football

  3. Good for you. πŸ™‚

    When we start being “ashamed” of the choices we made, that’s when we are in trouble. Right or wrong, we have no control over what other’s think. What we can control is our behavior and how we act. That, in the end is what will matter.

    For what it’s worth, I think you’re pretty neat. πŸ™‚

Share Your Thoughts

