Get to Know… Tryntsje

Name: Tryntsje Cuperus, I go by birdienl around the internet

Personality Type: ESFJ, though I apparently only have a 1% preference of Extraversion over Introversion

Famous ESFJ’s: Danny Glover, Don Knotts, Hoss Cartwright, Leonard “Bones” McCoy, Molly Weasley.

What do you love most about yourself?

I like my planning side, my ability to view a mess and put things in order, to work systematic even if there are a lot of tasks to be done.

What would you most like to change about yourself?

I would like to be able to defend my convictions stronger in discussions. I often feel unpleasant disagreeing with someone and then tend to bow to their opinions too soon.

Favorite Fictional Character & why:

Elinor Dashwood from Sense and Sensibility. I love her level-headed-ness, intelligence, her will to take care of her family and her emotional strength. I like to think I am maybe a little bit like her.

Name one possession that you absolutely love:

Aside from my bookshelves filled with books you mean? I have a small pillow which has ‘Lady of the Manor’ embroidered on it. It always makes me feel happy to be in my own home when I see that pillow.

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?

J.R.R. Tolkien. I would love to talk to the person who ‘invented’ Middle-Earth and all it’s wonderful inhabitants and ask him if he has any more amazing stories to tell.

Tell us three of your “guilty pleasures”:

  1. Crisps
  2. Watching Catherine Cookson adaptations
  3. Reading articles in magazines in the supermarket and subsequently putting the magazine back in the rack…

Name one thing (book, song, movie, item) you wish you had thought up first:

BookWorld, invented by the brilliantly funny author Jasper Fforde. It is the world ‘behind’ the books we read, the world where plots are made, characters are trained and things go on that us readers have absolutely no knowledge about. It’s a great world to discover in Fforde’s Thursday Next novels, but also just to keep thinking about after you’ve finished those books.

Share several of your favorite quotes with us:

One of the movies I like to quote is Little Women (1994), I’ve seen it so often I know quite some of the lines by heart. I love the line prof. Bhaer translates for Jo: ‘Your heart understood mine. In the depth of the fragrant night, I listened with ravished soul to your beloved voice. Your heart understood mine’. It’s originally a quote from the George Bizet opera Les pêcheurs de perles(The pearl fishers) and I think it’s terribly romantic!

What memory is the most special to you and why?

Memories of time spend with my father as a child/teenager. Working in the garden together, helping him with DIY jobs, riding on the tractor with him, talking about everything and nothing as he drove me somewhere. These memories are very precious as my father passed away two years ago.

Who is your favorite actor / actress? What was the first film you saw them in?

I don’t really have one favorite actor/actress, but am at the moment quite enamored by the rise of Tom Hiddleston, from the small-screen of Return to Cranford to the blockbuster The Avengers and doing a role in the Shakespeare adaptation The Hollow Crown. He’s a versatile actor, looks like a very nice man and I’m always proud when one of ‘my’ period drama lovelies makes it in Hollywood!

“I would never get tired of talking about…”?

Books and movies in general, but classic literature and period movies in particular. I happen to have a good memory for movies, so people only have to mention ‘I saw a movie with actor A in which this and that happened’ and we have a conversation!

If you could own any animal as a pet, what would it be?

A hedgehog, they have such a cute snout and even wild hedgehogs are so curious and unaffected around humans. When I was a kid I used to fantasize about when I would be ‘grown-up’ and have all kinds of pet animals, rescued from abuse and being a happy bunch at my quaint little farm. Well, I’m grown-up now, but I’ve still got quite some way to go to get to that picture!

One miniseries or television show everyone needs to try out at least once:

Terra Nova; great acting, interesting plot lines and exploration of ethical issues.

18 Replies to “Get to Know… Tryntsje”

  1. Hi Tryntsje * waves * You have good taste 😀 ! I like your choice of Elinor as a favorite heroine, she seems alas, to be a bit less popular among Austenian heroines than say Lizzie or Emma. (Who are awesome too! It’s just a pity the others get overlooked!)

    Yay Terra Nova! I thought it was such a pity when they canceled it, especially after I read the show creators had plans for a darker plot twist in season 2 😦 .

    Now I guess I’ll have to add BookWorld to my reading list–it sounds really intriguing!

    1. Hello Lady Nefertankh! Thanks for your comment!

      It is indeed a great pity that Terra Nova was canceled, the story had such a lot of potential.

      The BookWorld is just the name of the world it takes place in, the books are called the Thursday Next chronicles by Jasper Fforde, starting with The Eyre Affair.

  2. Would you mind giving a pronunciation guide to your name? I like to be able to pronounce things right in my head, even if I never say them aloud.
    Your internet name, birdienl, is so familiar. I don’t know if I’ve seen it here or elsewhere.
    Oh, me, oh, my, Jasper Fforde is so incredibly brilliant. So incredibly creative, possibly the most creative writer I have ever read.
    Wasn’t Tom Hiddleston amazing as Henry V? I enjoyed “The Hollow Crown” so incredibly much. And he put so much depth into Loki. He is a very, very intelligent man, always has something thoughtful and intelligent to say in interviews. Those are my favorite kinds of actors.

    1. It’s a bit hard explaining it in English, but try something like Tr-ean-(as in mean)-tsje(can’t make that part any easier).

      My name is Frisian, Friesland being one of the Northernmost provinces of The Netherlands, which as its own language.

      Are you on LiveJournal, by any chance? I’m most active there, especially around period drama communities, you might have seen my internet name there.

      Jasper Fforde is indeed very creative and also very funny, a rare but wonderful combination I think!

      1. Oh, yes, I know a wee smidgin about the languages of that area of Europe, but this is my first actual encounter with any Frisian. How splendid.
        No, I’m not really on Live Journal, but I haunt FanFiction dot net and Gina Dalfonzo’s Dickensblog.

        1. Well, it’s very nice to be called ‘splendid’!

          Ah, than I think we’ve met on Dickensblog, I comment there now and then as well as birdienl and have guest posted there.

  3. Ooh, BookWorld sounds intriguing! I’m going to have to check out Fforde’s books.

    I have a favorite version of Little Women also, but can’t find it anywhere online, so I don’t know who was in it or when it came out. 😦

    Also, I really like you name, but I’ve never been sure how to pronounce it.

    1. Hello bluiss, thanks for the comment!

      BookWorld is just such a great invention. You wonder why no-one ever thought to write something like that before (or maybe people did and I don’t know about it). It’s very fantastical, but still feels realistic and could-be-true.

      My name is Frisian, Friesland being one of the Northernmost provinces of The Netherlands, which as its own language. I was named after my grandmother. You’re not the only one who doesn’t know how to pronounce, I practically have had problems with that my whole life….. It’s a bit hard explaining it in English, but try something like Tr-ean-(as in mean)-tsje(can’t make that part any easier)

  4. Hi Trynstsje, great to meet you! I love that you’re also a fan of the fab Tom Hiddleston — I just adore him! I am anxiously awaiting the release of The Hollow Crown in the US!

    1. Hello Ruth, thanks for the comment! I’m sure you’ll enjoy The Hollow Crown, I’m not even a Shakespeare fan, but I thought it really good. The acting in it is just amazing, with Tom Hiddleston taking one of the top spots!

  5. Hee, yay to finally read your interview here Tryntsje! 😀

    Sorry to hear about your father *hugs* That’s wonderful that you have such wonderful memories with him ❤

    Can you believe I haven't read any of Jasper Fforde's books yet? *blushes* I've had it on my want-to-read list for years but I have yet to actually pick up the first book in the series ;_; Soon…I hope lol (pesky, never-ending want-to-read pile lol) 🙂

    It amazes me how popular Tom Hiddleston has become in the past few years through the Avengers/Thor franchise. I still remember when I first laid eyes on him in Return to Cranford too! Still have yet to watch The Hollow Crown but it looks fantastic ❤ (oh, and Deep Blue Sea, it looks intense)

    Hee, hedgehogs are cute 😀

    1. Hello Lianne,

      Oh dear, I’m sure you’d really really enjoy Jasper Fforde’s books. I’m looking forward to seeing the first review appear on your website 😉

      Yes, it does my period drama/BBC loving heart good to see both Tom Hiddleston and Richard Armitage as first-and-foremost period drama men making their way into the ‘big world’!

  6. Hello, Tryntsje! So happy to “meet” you in the interviews finally. 🙂

    Love “Little Women,” it has such a sweet story and great acting (1994).

    As you probably already know, talking about books and/or film is a big part of my blog – the discussions are always fun. 🙂

    1. Hi Rissi *waves*,

      Yes, I do love reading your blog and commenting/discussing the things you review!

      I watched ‘Bletchley Circle’ last weekend BTW. Terrific acting, as I already expected and very very tense drama. I thought the ‘case’ was quite horrific, but I loved watching how the ladies slowly found out who was the killer. The ending felt a bit rushed, it didn’t really show what the fallout was for the women, having worked together on this and then going back to their normal, domestic lives. Let’s just hope there is a second series in which this gets explored a bit more.
      I’ll post a review on my LJ in a few weeks I guess (I’m running a bit behind with reviewing things…)

      1. *Waves*

        Loved seeing your “get to know” on my dashboard, Tryntsje. 🙂

        Yay! So glad you saw ‘Bletchley Circle’ and liked it. The mystery was intense and quite horrible but the way it was solved was also building in each episode. Sadly I’ve not read anywhere that it’s being ordered for more but am like you, I’d love to see writer’s concoct a new case with the same cast. Now that would be grand.

        Will look forward to your review!

Share Your Thoughts

