Get to Know… Rissi!

Name: Rissi

Personality Type: Being a rebel here, let me just say that taking a “test” to know my personality seems so… clinical. It has never really been my thing, honestly. Instead of a four-letter acronym defining me, I’d say I am not a very emotional adult (I was more so as a young teen) but I do get excitable; giver, thinker, and creative soul who thinks music is a fabulous means of expression. Quiet days best suit me. Uncertainty is not my friend. I appreciate honesty and value family.

Editor’s Note: My best guess — ISTJ.What do you love most about yourself?

I don’t like writing any sort of autobiographical writing but I suppose what I like most about myself is that creative nature. It is that which allows me to best express myself.

What would you most like to change about yourself?

The ability to interact with people face-to-face with more ease; it’s something that was fostered in me as a child but something I recognized as a teen and have since tried to change that about myself. In the last five years, I am definitely more “out-going” than I once was.

Favorite Fictional Character & why:

Off the top of my head? Captain America. For a fictional hero, he is probably the most selfless, upstanding man I’ve ever encountered. His approach is to always do the right thing no matter the cost to himself is not only an admirable quality but also echoes Christianity and is something we wish we could achieve for ourselves – even on a small level.

Name one possession that you absolutely love:

Would it sound horrible if I claim my iPod? I’ve only had it for seven or eight months but it is awesome!

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?

This question always stumps me since I’ve never really thought about it. Meeting some of the classic authors like Jane Austen or Charles Dickens would have been very interesting. Getting inside the head of Dickens in particular would have proved… fascinating. I think because of how relevant they are even in today’s culture and my own aspirations, meeting either of them would have been constructive. I also wouldn’t mind meeting some of the people who are thought of as role models like Bethany Hamilton, Rebecca St. James, The Harris Brothers or Bethany Dillon

Tell us three of your “guilty pleasures”:

  1. Skittles / Starbucks (toss-up)
  2. Dancing with the Stars
  3. Sappy Christmas Movies

Name one thing (book, song, movie, item) you wish you had thought up first:

Since I love it so much, would it be redundant to say, Downton Abbey?It is gorgeous visually, and tells a compelling story that still reverberates with society today.

Share several of your favorite quotes with us:

I feel like it is very un-cool to say this but… I don’t really have any favorite quotes. There have been ones that have “hit” me as being profound but they aren’t ones that I’ve adopted or keep in my memory bank. I came up with these though:

  • Life is either a daring adventure or nothing
  • If at first you do succeed, try not to look astonished
  • Dance like there’s nobody watching. Love like you’ll never be hurt. Sing like there’s nobody listening. And live like it’s heaven on earth.

Though not exactly a quote, I have always loved this exchange between William Wilberforce and his butler in the film, Amazing Grace and you cannot share just William’s answer without the question:

You found God, sir? 

I think He found me. You have any idea how inconvenient that is? How idiotic it will sound? I have a political career glittering ahead of me, and in my heart I want spider’s webs. 

What memory is the most special to you and why?

I have this distant memory that I think is mine and not a dream or a story I was told that involves my maternal grandmother. The memory is of her taking my cousin, Liz and I to the park, and giving us strict orders not to complain when it was time to leave, which naturally, we probably did. (That part is a little fuzzy. *wink*) She died when I was six so I was never given opportunity to really “know” her but I am told she was one of the godliest women any of her acquaintances ever met – she touched a lot of lives.

Who is your favorite actor / actress? What was the first film you saw them in?

I have several, not just one but the first name that came to mind writing this was Anne Hathaway. She has proved that she can do “pretty” as well as “gritty” and I think she’ll go far. The first film I saw her in was the one that “made” her – The Princess Diaries.

“I would never get tired of talking about…”?

It wouldn’t be honest if I said “nothing.” I think I would get tired of talking about everything – eventually. I love writing, so that is where I best express myself – it is where I say everything I have to. Right now, I am at a place in my life where I want to learn, not just about the “big” things in life but faith and in that, more about myself. So I am open to conversation about varying topics.

If you could own any animal as a pet, what would it be?

I am not an animal lover but… a (miniature) penguin. (Yep, thought as long as I was saying, I’d go for the most unusual. )

One miniseries or television show everyone needs to try out at least once:

Bleak House (2005). It is spectacular.

22 Replies to “Get to Know… Rissi!”

      1. She certainly is, though I’d argue that Esther’s role is the leading one.
        Bleak House is one of my favorites, though it probably vies with Two Cities and Mutual Friend for top billing.

        1. Too true, Christy – Anna Maxwell Martin is STUPENDIOUS in the role of Esther. That was the miniseries I was first introduced to her and now, I get excited whenever seeing she is starring in a new production. 🙂

          ‘Mutual Friend’ is excellent though one of the darkest Dicken’s adaptations I’ve seen yet.

  1. Rissi! I knew I liked you. 😉 I’m not an animal lover either (I was the little girl who scoffed at my cat/dog/horse loving girl friends. lol) but there’s something way too cute about little Penguins. And, I LOVE the second quote about trying not to look astonished. Perfecto. 😉

    1. *smile* I knew I liked you also, Jessica, and reading your interview only confirmed that! 🙂 (In case you never saw it – I loved your answers!) Happy to have finally “met” you.

      I grew up in the country and always had kittens/cats around so I did play with them as a child but never grew so attached in later years that I wanted a pet around. Now, we have no animals and unlike my cousin, I don’t want animals around to be honest. Though a mini penguin was crazy but figured, “why not?”

      Too bad pets don’t stay babies – that’s always when they’re the cutest. 🙂

      LOL! That is a good quote, right?! It’s something we should all try to accomplish. 🙂

  2. Nice to sort of meet you, Rissi.

    Glad to hear that Cap is your favorite fictional character. He’s in my list of favorites too, although I admit that Sherlock Holmes beat him out by quite a bit. I think Cap is my sister’s favorite as well. He’s such a terrific character. I can’t think of a single thing to dislike about him!

    Do you read spoilers at all? If so, do you still like “Downton?”

    And “Amazing Grace” is AWESOME!!

    1. *smile* It’s great to have “met” you also, Carissa.

      Oh, gosh, yes! I am not ashamed to admit that Captain America is sorta’ cute. 😉 I think I remember that he is a favorite of yours (and your sister…?). I am not entirely sure Captain America is my most favorite fictional character as I have many but he was the first that came to mind so he won out – Sherlock is definitely AWESOME!

      Spoilers: I am the QUEEN of reading spoilers. My father prefers not to know anything while mom and I *HAVE* to know what happen in our favorite shows (we see the seasons on DVD), so yes, I know basically “everything” prior to watching it on-screen and still am delighted by my favorite shows. As for ‘Downton,’ yes I am still keeping up with it and despite everything Fellowes throws at us, it continues to top my list of most-loved favorites. How about you?

      ‘Amazing Grace’ is a priceless film – it’s such a powerful story.

  3. Hey Rissi~
    Loved reading your answers and finding out more of your favorite things and quirks that make us all special.
    Ooo-yaa for getting an iPod, I just finally got on the mP3 player/iPod bandwagon (instead of using only CDs), and isn’t it awesome! Playlists galore with everything at your fingertips . . it is amazing!
    And Captain America – he’s my favorite Avenger! I finally decided to plunge in and admit I LOVE (instead of just being passively interested in) superhero movies because of him. He represents so much of Biblical manhood in his desire to protect others, especially the weak. I can’t believe that movie came out only a year or so ago . . wow.
    Oh, and I just put the first disc of “Castle” to the top of my Netfilx Queue this week. . . I’ll have to let you know how I like it!
    Cheers!
    Camille

    1. Hello, Camille…

      I LOVE my iPod, Camille! For years, I didn’t have one and then my parents told me to pick one out and it’d be a birthday gift from them – needless to say, I was rather thrilled. 😉 Having so much music at one’s fingertips is cool – and being such a music lover, I find it particularly useful and although I’ve not used the audio book feature yet, that is also nice.

      Yay! Another Captain America fan – isn’t he cute!? In addition to him, I like Hawkeye and Iron Man (yep, even his conceited side. ;D). Happy to know you liked that series also – they can be sappy but are too much fun to ignore. 🙂

      Aw! Yay for “Castle.” SO excited you are going to try it – yes, do make sure to stop by and let me know what you think, girl! It’s awfully cute. I cannot resist Castle and Beckett.

  4. Ha, love that you didn’t take the personality test but told us about you anyway. 🙂

    I love that exchange Wilberforce and his butler. It’s so true!

    I really enjoy watching Anne Hathaway as an actor. She has such a wide range of ability.

    1. Thanks, Bluiis – I meant no disrespect by choosing not to take the “test” but it just didn’t look like my kind of “thing,” so I decided to skip it. 🙂

      That scene in ‘Amazing Grace’ is probably one of most favorites – or it could very well be my favorite! It’s so poignant and yet it’s very powerful.

      Anne is an actress who I think will go far in her career – she does have a wide array of roles already to her name and that doesn’t seem to be stopping as she is still in demand with filmmakers. (Plus she can sing! :D)

  5. Great to read your answers Rissi!

    I love that ‘quote’ you picked from Amazing Grace, reminds me that not only does the movie have a wonderful story to tell, it also has quite a few funny moments.

    1. Hey, Tryntsje!

      That is probably my most favorite scene in ‘Amazing Grace.’ The best thing about the film is that it does have a beautiful story to tell – today that is far too rare to find.

  6. Rissi, you are such a precious soul. I’ve enjoyed watching you blossom in the last few years — become a reviewer, then a blogger. I can’t wait to see what God has planned for you next!

    1. You have been such a wonderful (and patient!) friend, Charity! Thank you for all the tips and making my writing voice better than it is. I am looking forward to this upcoming year… 🙂

  7. Hey Rissi, great to see & read your answers here 😀

    I love your explanation to Captain America, they are all of the reasons I find him so admirable xD I haven’t mentioned it at all at my blog (yet) but I actually started reading comic books big time. Mainly Thor, but I hope to start reading a bit of Captain America soon too (it’s sitting somewhere in my room waiting to be read *excited)…

    If at first you do succeed, try not to look astonished

    lol, I’ll try to keep that one in mind 😉

    I really need to get myself a copy of Bleak House, it was absolutely stunning to watch it–really reflects the tone of the novel. And the actors were incredible in it ❤ (I see you, Charles Dance :P)

    1. Hey, there, Lianne! It’s been fun reading everyone’s thoughts and answers to this “interview” questionnaire. 🙂

      For me, it’s rare that I like a hero as totally as I do Captain America. Sure his story is full of some sappiness and goofy action effects but as hero, he works well – and he’s a selfless one at that! Really??? You’re reading the comic books now – that’s so neat! I’ve never taken an interest in them but do love the movies; I’ll be looking for your further thoughts, and suspect you’ll share how they differ…

      That quote makes me smile. 🙂

      ‘Bleak House’ is stunning! It’s probably still my favorite Dickens adaptation plus the acting is fantastic. There seems to be nothing wrong with it. 😀

  8. Hi Rissi! I enjoyed reading your survey responses! 🙂

    I’m really looking forward to seeing Anne Hathaway in Les Mis…I loved her as Catwoman in The Dark Knight Rises!

    1. Hello, Ruth!

      What’d you think of ‘Les Mis’? The only reason that I may see ‘Rises’ is for the actors. Love Christian Bale and of course, Anne Hathaway. 🙂

  9. It’s always fabulous getting to know Rissi better.

    That quote about “dancing like no one’s watching”….I have it right beside my bed in this gorgeous frame. LOVE it!

    And I have to agree with you….I think Anne Hathaway is going to go far. I think maybe even an Oscar statuette is in her future 😉

    1. Ella – hey, there!!!

      Aw! I love that you have that quote – I’m still looking for some neat things to decorate my room with just now so perhaps I’d make something with that.

      Anne Hathaway seems to be a very popular (“in demand”) actress just now, and I think she’s got the talent to take her far. You’re right: She’ll earn that Oscar sometime – perhaps sooner than we think. ;D

Share Your Thoughts

