Name: Rachel McMillan

Personality Type: ESFJ

Famous ESFJs: Don Knotts, Rachel McAdams, Hoss Cartwright, Leonard “Bones” McCoy, Molly Weasley

What do you love most about yourself? I will always win the most easily amused award. I can be thrilled by day-to-day circumstances. I also have a great travel-bug which has taken me several places across the globe; but also allows me to enjoy work trips and explore something new in cities large and small.

What would you most like to change about yourself? I am anxious and hard on myself. Anxiously hard on myself? I never feel like I live up to my own standards.

Favorite Fictional Character & why:

Sherlock Holmes: he is the opposite of me.  He is all calculation and logic and I think indubitably with my heart and so garnered by emotion. He also has an incredibly innate sense of confidence which informs every action he makes. I doubt myself too often. Sherlock’s brainy intellect and his recognition of his talent allow him to think outside the box, take the world by storm and really, really like who he is. I want this trick!  I also wish I could get away with being as blunt as he is.

Name one possession that you absolutely love:

I own a book that once belonged to L.M. Montgomery. She loved nature writing and this book is called “The Life of the Grasshopper.” It has her handwriting in the margins, and a few pictures of cats that she scribbled. In it she has pasted a few scraps of paper she found interesting.  It was the thought behind the gift, the giver and my personal devotion to LM Montgomery’s life writing and journals in particular which make this so profoundly special to me.

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?

L. M.  Montgomery. The more time I spend in her journals and read about her own anxious make-up and her self-effacing method of approaching everything make me think that we would have a lot to talk about.  Like me, she is greatly informed by romantic sensibilities which, of course, cannot be made manifest in the real world. I live too much in my own fictional landscape and I think she colored her world in the same way.  Moreover, she was the wife of a minister who had a few, how shall we say it? , less than savory experiences with a congregation in the expectations meted out on a minister’s family, and the belief that she did not fit into the mold of such a demanding structure. I am a minister’s daughter and had similarly rocky experiences with my church background. We would have a heyday together!

Tell us three of your “guilty pleasures”:

  1. Jelly Bellys
  2. The last five minutes of the BBC “North and South” (I watch this more than I care to admit. Over and over again.
  3. The BBC Merlin: I know it’s cheesy. I do. I just can’t help myself.

Name one thing (book, song, movie, item) you wish you had thought up first:

The book I most identify with is The Blue Castle by L M Montgomery (oh my goodness, is she a theme here? ). There are so many thoughts traipsing through the heroine’s mind —so many moments of self-revelation and doubt that I wish I had had the foresight to be able to shroud my insecurities in such a carefully-tightened plot.

Share several of your favorite quotes with us:

“Love is the most creative force in the world” Neil MacNeil (from Catherine Marshall’s Christy)

“I will just have to fix my thoughts on the moonlight and the romance and ignore the mosquitoes” –Emily Climbs by LM Montgomery

“ I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious” –Albert Einstein

“Trifles are the sum of life” –Charles Dickens

“There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.” –Romans 8:1, KJV

What memory is the most special to you and why?

My entire life I wanted to travel to Vienna.  But, I wanted to do it right: not as an impoverished student staying in hostels; but a well-timed trip where I could meander about and see concerts and taste and see and indulge in the city (within reason). So, while it was my first dream destination, it wasn’t my first trip to Europe. However, when I finally stepped out of the train in Vienna two years ago, walked a slight ways and found myself in the Ringstrasse, I was overtaken.  I bought a strudel and a strong cup of coffee and watched a dream come true before my eyes.

Who is your favorite actor / actress? What was the first film you saw them in?

When I was 10 years old my aunt brought over the VHS of Roman Holiday. I fell immediately in love with Audrey Hepburn: her grace, poise and most of all her sense of class. I find her so refined. I immediately made my dad find me all of her other films to rent or buy. I still love her this day; several biographies read and films revisited.

“I would never get tired of talking about…”?

Hymns. I love hymns. I think hymns need to be reinstated in churches. STAT.  I am saddened by the decline of modern worship: replacing what I call “self help/Jesus is my Boyfriend songs for the poetical genius of the great works of old. Hymns were originally constructed to elicit the entire gospel message within a few stanzas that largely illiterate populations could inter to memory.  It’s an integral part of Christian history that I feel the Evangelical church is turning a blind eye on. I could seriously talk about this forever ( and, for those who know me, actually will)

If you could own any animal as a pet, what would it be?

Basset Hound.

One miniseries or television show everyone needs to try out at least once:

Foyle’s War.  I think it is the best-written unique (not adaptation ) television series ever made. Writer Anthony Horowitz sets deft characterization, a succinct sense of verisimilitude and unparalleled, rigorous historical accuracy under the guise of a British Tea Cozy mystery. Certainly the whip-smart detective and his band of trusty helpmates are here to investigate murder in mayhem in gorgeous seaside Hastings and the surrounding South Downs.  But, the crimes they investigate are exacerbated by the tragedies of WWII. If a bomb goes off in a neighbourhood revealing a corpse with a knife stuck in his neck, where does moral duty lie? In a society becoming acclimatized to constant violence, where does the line between wrong and right stand when blurred by the atrocity of international conflict.