Get to Know… Lydia

Name: Lydia Jacobs

Personality Type: ESTJ

Famous ESTJ’s: Andrew Jackson, Harry S. Truman, Bette Davis, Barbara Stanwyck, Billy Graham, Lucy (Peanuts), Rachel Lynde (Anne of Green Gables).

What do you love most about yourself?

I love that I’m a self-starter.  I don’t wait to do something until someone tells me to do it.

What would you most like to change about yourself?

If it were possible to go back in time and change or undo some things that I did when I was younger, I would.  I’m pretty happy with myself right now.

Favorite Fictional Character & why:

Anne Shirley from Anne of Green Gables.  She isn’t afraid of speaking her mind and she doesn’t seem to care what people think.

Name one possession that you absolutely love: I love my Kindle.  It allows me to take all my favorite books with me wherever I go.

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why? I would love to meet Anne Frank.  I would want to ask her how she was able to maintain such an optimistic attitude through such a horrendous situation.

Tell us three of your “guilty pleasures”:

  1.  teen dramas
  2. anything from Coldstone Creamery
  3. In Touch Magazine

Name one thing (book, song, movie, item) you wish you had thought up first:

I wish I had come up with using Jane Austen novels as the basis for movies like Clueless or Lost in Austen.

Share several of your favorite quotes with us:

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths.  (Prov. 3:5-6)

“For I know the thoughts I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” (Jer. 29:11)

“For the Lord God is a sun and a shield; The Lord will give grace and glory; no good thing will He withhold from those who walk uprightly.” (Ps. 84:11)

What memory is the most special to you and why?

Going on a missions trip to Russia when I was in high school.  It was special because it was the first time I had ever been overseas and the first time that I knew I was called to be a missionary.

Who is your favorite actor / actress? What was the first film you saw them in?

I would have to say Leonardo Dicaprio.  The first movie I saw him in was Titanic, but I saw him on Growing Pains before that.

“I would never get tired of talking about…”?

I would never get tired of talking about traveling (telling people about my experiences and hearing about other people’s experiences)

If you could own any animal as a pet, what would it be?

A pig-not a pot-bellied pig like some celebrities keep as pets-a pig like Wilbur from Charlotte’s Web.

One miniseries or television show everyone needs to try out at least once:

The Office (the British version)

6 Replies to “Get to Know… Lydia”

  1. Hi Lydia, nice to meet you! That’s awesome that you’ve been to Russia; despite studying Russian history at the graduate level, I’ve never gone to Russia at all. I’d love to go one day, their culture is just so fascinating and rich and their architecture so different. I love talking about travelling too 🙂

    Jane Austen spinoffs like Clueless and Bridget Jones’ Diary are fun! I love how they’re able to translate them into a contemporary setting as well.

  2. I’d love to meet Anne Frank, as well, or Corrie ten Boom. Stories like that are almost unbelievable, that people didn’t just survive, but became better people through them.

    I loved Wilbur! I think pigs like him are adorable. 🙂 I was always in love with the pig in Babe, too.

  3. How nice to “meet” you, Lydia. 🙂

    I have a “weakness” for teen dramas also – I make fun of them but cannot seem to stop watching some of ABC Family’s dramas!

  4. Hi Lydia, nice to “meet” you!
    I love, love, love Coldstone – I just wish they weren’t so expensive. We just had one move into our town and I’m a little nervous I’m going to go crazy driving by it every couple of days.

    You’ve been to Russia, how cool?! I went in high school on a trip to Moscow for mission-related work with the Institute for Basic Life Principles (IBLP). It was an amazing, life-changing experience. Did you go with a local missionary, and where did you go?
    Have a lovely week!

    1. Hi Camille, I went to Russia on a missions trip with my church the summer after I graduated high school. My team worked at a summer camp in Zelnegorsk, a little town outside St. Petersburg, for two weeks. We spent the first week just getting to know the campers. The second week, we showed them the Jesus film (put out by Campus Crusade, I think). and made wordless book bracelets with them.

Share Your Thoughts

