Get to Know… Lianne

Name: Lianne

Personality Type: INTJ

Famous INTJ’s: Chevy Chase, Raymond Burr, Lance Armstrong, Ayn Rand, Calvin Coolidge, Hannibal Lector, Phileas Fogg.

What do you love most about yourself?

I would say my writing skills. Over the last few years it has been cultivated more towards an academic setting but growing up I wrote a lot of stories and other flickers of imagination down on paper; I still do. I also love writing because it’s the best way that I can articulate my thoughts and ideas.

What would you most like to change about yourself?

I wish I was less allergy-prone =(

Favorite Fictional Character & why:

Just one, eh? Hmm, I’m going to have to go with Anne Elliot from Jane Austen’s Persuasion. She’s always taken for granted by the people around her, which is totally not cool because she’s such a kind and thoughtful person. Despite of it she’s not angry at those people and she’s always there for them anyways (in the meantime I found myself feeling very protective towards her and angry towards those people around her on her behalf). She also doesn’t lose her cool whenever she finds herself in a tense situation, her judgement is practical and she listens to people (however ridiculous their complaints are). She’s actually quite the character to look up to, her perseverance and generosity are very inspiring…and naturally I was very happy for her when she got her happy ending =)

Name one possession that you absolutely love:

Right now it has to be my Kobo eReader. Don’t get me wrong, I still prefer reading from a physical book (there’s just something about the smell and feel of books in my hand) but because I am out of space where I can store my books (at one point my desk was covered with tall piles of books…I’ve managed to reorganise my shelves and my room since but there’s a stack sitting beside me that’s growing (rather exponentially) again) the eReader has been very convenient.

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?

Eek, the historian in me can’t decide! There are so many people that pop to mind: Emperor Constantine, Jane Austen, J.R.R. Tolkien, Elizabeth I, Michelangelo, Anton Chekhov, Peter I, Horatio Nelson, George VI, Federico Garcia Lorca, Dante Alighieri…but one person did top the list: Jesus Christ. As someone who is central to my beliefs, the foundation of Christianity, who has changed the course of history and lived in such an interesting time period…yeah, he’s definitely one person I’d want to meet.

Tell us three of your “guilty pleasures”:

  1. Celebrity gossip – Yeah, it can’t be helped. My roommate in grad school and I pretty much lived on celebrity gossip to get through all of our assignments, papers, presentations and exams. We were quite informed, if there was a PhD programme for it we totally would have aced it 😉
  2. Pop music – I listen to mainly alternative/indie/classical/piano/score music but on occasion I will listen to whatever’s got a beat (though I’m still sorely behind in whatever’s in at the moment in pop music—I think I’m feeling my age already, haha)
  3. Potato chips – I was actually pretty good a few years ago with the whole not snacking on potato chips much (if ever). Grad school of course messed that all up; you sort of eat to alleviate the stress and having chips nearby was always handy. So yeah, I still indulge a bit on the chips but I’m easing off.

Name one thing (book, song, movie, item) you wish you had thought up first:

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. It’s the epitome of epicness to me and so rich in lore, language, culture and history. Tolkien envisaged this whole world complete with a history stretching from the beginning of time right up to a few hundred years after the events of the book (the historian in me is completely amazed with this). It’s absolutely astounding how real and familiar it all is, like Middle Earth really does exist somewhere.  But it’s also the themes and the emotions that draw me to the story: they’re quite universal (wanting to do right, feeling doubt about the large obstacles before us, experiencing fear, desiring to see the world, thinking of home, etc.). The way that everything just ties in together so seamlessly—the history, the plot, the characters, the themes, the dialogue—yeah, I wish I had been the one who thought of all this up in the first place =P Cheers to J.R.R. Tolkien for such a brilliant story!

Share several of your favorite quotes with us:

“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.” – Gandalf, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien.

There are tons of great quotes from the book but this remains my favourite of them all, it’s very profound and something to remember as you go about your day.

‘It’s a dangerous business, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no telling where you might be swept off to.’ – Bilbo Baggins, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

Okay, so I chose another favourite quote from The Lord of the Rings. This quote is my second favourite because it talks about travelling and about the journeys that you make. Sometimes you set out with intentions of following one path but in the end you end up somewhere else completely different.

“Everything will be okay in the end. If it’s not okay, it’s not the end.” – Anon.

I don’t know who really wrote this but this was my motto throughout my graduate programme (especially in those moments when you think that your assignments will never be completed and you’ll never see that degree in your hands, hahaha)

“What shall it profit a man, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul?” — Mark 8:36

There’s a couple verses from the New Testament that are meaningful to me but I frequently refer to this one because of the warning that comes with it about seeking worldly power or influence at the expense of your own person (i.e. your beliefs, your values, your dreams, your relationships with other people, etc.).

“For what it’s worth: it’s never too late, or in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit, you can stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the courage to start all over again.” – The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

I thought this was from the book (which I haven’t read…yet) but apparently it’s from the movie (which I haven’t seen… yet). Anyways, I love this quote and at this point of my life it’s a very meaningful one, very encouraging.

What memory is the most special to you and why?

I had a difficult time picking one particular memory to answer this question but the following three are special to me:

  • 24 June 2009 – This day was particularly special to me because it was the day that I graduated from my undergraduate programme at the University of Toronto. The weather was a little damp but it was lovely to share this moment with my family and to receive my degree after years of hard work.
  • August 2010 – The last two weeks of that month was the first time we went as a family to Europe (Spain and France) for vacation. There’d been great moments throughout that trip: endless visits to ice cream shops to taste and compare, checking out various monuments, running between platforms with a nine-minute window to catch our transfer from Toulouse to Barcelona, coming across what was possibly the smallest elevator we’ve ever seen (in Madrid), walking from the Bastille metro station all the way to the Arc d’Triomphe in Paris on foot. It’s hard to settle on one memory from that trip, there were too many good moments to cherish.

  • December 2010 – From September to December of 2010 I was on a semester exchange to Italy which is in itself is a memory and experience that I cherish. But within my time there one particular memory that stood out for me: attending the Christmas Midnight Mass at St. Peter’s Basilica (courtesy of a dear friend who lives in Rome; his Christmas gift to me was a ticket to the midnight Mass). It’s one of those once-in-a-lifetime experiences and a wonderful way to start off Christmas Day (as an aside, Christmas Day in Rome that year was interesting: it was pouring non-stop. Never experienced a wet  Christmas before).

Who is your favorite actor / actress? What was the first film you saw them in?

Surprisingly enough this was a very tough question! I guess I have a whole slew of favourite actors and actresses that I never really bothered considering one particular actor above all others as my absolute favourite. But okay, if I must name one:

Karl Urban. I was first acquainted with his acting in the ‘90s show Xena: the Warrior Princess. He was quite versatile in that show, playing three different characters (maybe four? I don’t remember); Julius Caesar and Eros are like, galaxies different from each other so it really shows his range as an actor. I tried to follow his filmography as best as I could after he was done with Xena but I was so happy that he was casted in The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers as Eomer, Eowyn’s older brother. Naturally I was a bit bummed that his character didn’t get as much screentime as I wanted (I wanted a coronation scene ;_;) but Karl was perfection as Eomer. I was delighted to see him in The Bourne Supremacy and then of course there was his role in the 2009 reboot of Star Trek. So yeah, I’m so glad that he’s starring in more projects and he remains one of my favourite actors to date =)

“I would never get tired of talking about…”?

Football (soccer). There’s a few things I can never get tired of talking about (books, Europe, random historical tidbits) but football seems to be the one thing that I find myself talking about a lot, especially when the international tournaments are on (i.e. World Cup/Euros/Olympics). So if you’re following me on Twitter, you’ll notice my endless tweets (a lot of them live tweets) about the matches. I’m not particularly athletic and don’t really follow sports but football is like the one thing that grabs my passion for whatever reason, there’s just something about it. And the online communities that I’ve been a part of that are dedicated to football have been great, very welcoming; we cheer when our team scores and we mourn when our team loses. Football really brings people together.

If you could own any animal as a pet, what would it be?

Bunnies! I love bunnies, they’re so adorable. Cats are cool too. I’m not really an animal person but after seeing the Olympic opening ceremonies, I think a corgi would be great too. The Queen’s corgis were pretty cute xD

One miniseries or television show everyone needs to try out at least once:

Casualty 1906/1907/1909 (I think in North America they renamed it as The London Hospital)

It’s a period drama set in the turn of the twentieth century following the development of the London Hospital. It’s based from diaries and hospital records during this period so all of the characters who grace the screens were actually individuals who lived and worked in the hospital during the time. It’s a fascinating watch because you get to see how medicine and patient care has evolved and how this hospital during that period was considered cutting edge in terms of medicinal knowledge and practice.

Beyond the historical and medical aspects of the show the characters are interesting with their own respective storylines and the cast is fantastic including William Houston (North & South), Charity Wakefield (2008’s Sense & Sensibility), Nicholas Farrell (2007’s Persuasion), Cherie Lunghi (The Buccaneers) and Sarah Smart (Doctor Who, Wallander). They all had some pretty strong performances and really drove some of the emotions behind the stories. Oh, and Alfie Allen (who’s currently on Game of Thrones) makes an appearance in Casualty 1907!

It was unfortunately not picked up by BBC for a fourth series but fans of costume dramas and medical dramas should check this show out. It’s sorely underrated and flew under the radar when it was on the air. It deserves more love.

15 Replies to “Get to Know… Lianne”

  1. Nice to meet you Lianne!
    I love that Anne Elliot is so selfless and kind, she has many positive qualities in that respect. I laughed when you said you are running out bookshelf space, I keep having to buy bookshelves, and I still don’t have enough room 😉

    I am interested in reading your work . . . it sounds like you’ve spent a lot of time and work to polish your skills.

    1. Hi Camille! lol I wish I could buy bookshelves but alas, my room is quite small (I had two friends who told me that one way to solve my book space problem was to build my bed out of books 😀 ). We need houses with built-in libraries—big libraries 😀

      Aww, thanks! Right now the stuff I’ve been posting on my blog have either been the articles I’ve written for Femnista or for two other publications I’m currently writing for. Hopefully one day I’ll post some original work…or get published ❤

  2. Hi, Lianne!

    I loved your answers, and I have to admit, it’s too easy to get sucked into celebrity gossip! 😉 Oh, and though I have a huge sweet tooth, chips (particularly tortilla chips and salsa) are my downfall.

      1. We have some right now and I keep having to ration myself. I tell myself not to eat too many and save some for my girls, but it’s so hard! 😉

  3. I am right there with you on potato chips being a guilty pleasure. They are my biggest food weakness…well French fries are too, but they are pretty much the same thing in that they are both salty, fried white potatoes. Forget the ice cream and chocolate…just give me the grease and salt!

    I would love to go to Europe one day. Your trips there sound amazing!

    1. Mmm, french fries, they’ve become a major guilty pleasure for me recently too! There’s just something about the potato being fried that’s just…yeah, haha, I’m going to stop right there before I make us both hungry for some! 😛

      Europe is definitely a must-see, there’s just so much to see and experience (and eat, lol). You’ll love it 🙂 I’m itching to go back! xD

  4. Hello Lianne!

    Great to see you recommending Casualty 1900s, it’s really a great show that should have a much bigger fanbase. I saw there was going to be an article about Milais and Ethel in next year’s Feminsta, I’m just guessing you picked that topic?? 😉

    1. Hey Tryntsje! *waves*

      Agreed, I’m still surprised at how small the fanbase is. And LOL, you know me too well 😉 I indeed chose Milais and Ethel for the next issue of Femnista 😀 I was racking my brain for days on which favourite couple to write on and they magically appeared on my list xD

  5. Hi Lianne! Nice to meet you!

    I must say, I am also into celebrity gossip. I read People when I am at my hairdresser or even on my work lunch break sometimes. Hey, it’s fun every once in a while.

    EOMER WAS IN THE BOURNE SUPREMACY?!?! As who?!?!?! How did I not know this?

    1. Nice to meet you too Gabrielle!

      Agreed, it’s fun to read here and there. It was a way for me to de-stress for a very long time (still is in a way xP)

      Yup yup! 😀 He played Kirill, the assassin that was on Bourne’s tail for like most of the film (they had that massive chase sequence across Moscow towards the end). He was looking especially fine in that movie 😉 (was flailing when he spoke Russian and everything :D)

  6. Hey, there, Li! Great to see your interview finally pop up here! YAY!

    I loved what you said about celebrity gossip – my mother and I read “People” magazine because we have been getting a copy in the mail in her business address (despite it being closed for over 20 years!). When it’s free, why not!? LOL!

    Oooh! Love that you recommend “Casualty 1906” (AKA “London Hospital”). That’s been one I’ve been curious about. 🙂

    1. Nice! My mum picks up the occasional ‘People’ or whatever other magazine has something interesting on the cover (I may prefer ‘Hello!’ magazine, not sure) and we talk about what’s covered, lol.

      I hope you get a chance to check out ‘Casualty 1907’! (I use 1907 as my base since I watched it first before going back to the 1906 episode), I absolutely love it, the sets and wardrobe really look like they’re from that period 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

