What I’m Thankful For

A Savior: Because of Jesus, I don’t have to spend eternity in separation from God for my sins. I don’t have to be judged and punished for my disobedience. I get to spend eternity with those I love!

Family: Even though we don’t always see eye to eye, I love my family. I’m grateful to have both parents. I’m grateful to have a younger brother who is generous but not afraid to speak the truth.

Our Advertisers: I’m grateful for our wonderful advertisers, who put the food on our table and the clothes on our back by continuing to support our business. We all share the same dream, of being small business owners and doing a service in our community and together we make it possible. So many of them are generous souls.

Our Readers: You delight and surprise us. You support our advertisers. You sometimes even write for us, and that is an enormous blessing in our life and that of our advertisers.

Veterans: I’m grateful for the military that protects us, and those who have served before. We owe you everything, so thank you.

Friends: There are so many wonderful people in my life. I’m grateful for my friends at church, and for my friends in the family, and for my friends who share no more than an interest in certain things with me. I’m glad for the friends I can call up and cry with, or see a funny movie with, or just have lunch with once in awhile.

America: I’m grateful to live in a country where I can be whatever I aspire to be, where I am free to worship in whatever church I choose, where I have a right to voice my opinion even if it isn’t what the government wants to hear.

Country Life: I’m grateful to live in the country, to be able to see the stars at night and hear the coyotes howl. I’m glad to traverse muddy roads just so I don’t have to cross big highways. I love living in a place where you know the person behind the counter, or sitting at the car wash, or running the local coffee shop.

Plenty: I’m grateful that I have a little extra money to spend, to send to animal shelters, to give to clothing drives, or to drop in a tin can for veterans outside the store.

Pets: I’m grateful for a silly dog who never fails to make me smile, who holds me up regularly for cookies and isn’t quite tall enough on his hind legs to lick my face. I’m grateful for three very different cats – one always loving and sweet, one very energetic and young, and one very crabby but that loves to crawl under the coverlet at night.

Seasons: I’m happy to live in a place where the weather isn’t the same all year around. I get to look forward to autumn leaves, and winter snow, and early flowers in the spring and ladybugs in the summer.

Happy Thanksgiving.

3 Replies to “What I’m Thankful For”

Share Your Thoughts

