Letters from Charity

Some of my friends are doing this, so I’m shamelessly stealing the idea!

Dear Steven Speilberg: I forgive you for War Horse. That movie was two and a half hours of depressing torture, but you redeemed yourself with Lincoln, which is by far the best movie I’ve seen this year. I haven’t felt this way about a film since The King’s Speech hit theaters. If your film wins a slew of Oscars, it’ll be well-deserved.

Dear The Hobbit: in less than a month, I’ll be sitting in a theater watching you. My excitement is barely containable, since you are giving me the chance to re-live the most wonderful cinematic experience in my life. I met my best friend through The Lord of the Rings. My entire worldview — and life — changed with that film. And now, I get to return to Middle-earth for an adventure with Hobbits, Dwarves, Wizards, and Elves. I have my opening day tickets!

Dear Kelly Clarkson: your song, “Stronger,” is kick-ass. I’ve had it on repeat for days.

Dear Pottermore: you fill some of the void in my heart left behind with no more Harry Potter books to look forward to. You remind me how much I love those stories, and I have so much FUN with you.

Dear GPS: thank you so much for getting me back and forth in the Big City, so that I could have fondue with a friend. I’m just sorry we made a wrong turn and had to drive in a giant circle at one point to figure out where the heck we were.

Dear Terri Pratchett: I loved your novel, Dodger. How clever of you to have a character from Oliver Twist interact with Sweeney Todd and Charles Dickens! Also, I intend to have you know that once Christmas gets closer, I fully intend to watch Hogfather one cold night, with snow outside the window and the Christmas tree gleaming in the corner.

Dear Hot Topic: STOP tempting me with your merchandise. Is it not enough that you now carry Doctor Who stuff? Did you really have to tempt me into purchasing two shirts, with Ten and Eleven, on them? Why do you now keep reminding me that you also have sonic screwdrivers? Have you no mercy on my pocket book?

Dear Amy Pond: I’m re-watching your Doctor Who episodes from the start. I love your character. You are so fabulous, I don’t know how to go on in your absence. How will I ever deal with the absence of my favorite redheaded Scottish girl?

Dear Vampire Diaries: thank you for breaking up Elena and Stefan, so Damon and Elena can be possible. But curse you, because I know you won’t let it happen. No, your purpose is to torture me over a prolonged period of time, in which I continue to come back for more.

Dear Castle: … where have you been all my life? And why are you trying to make me like Nathan Fillian? That’s MEAN.

Dear Doctor Who Christmas Special: How do you do this to me? Every time you break my heart with the absence of a favorite companion (or incarnation of the Doctor) you bring along a replacement that has me loving them simply from the previews. Clara, you seem to be wonderful — and unless I’m mistaken, you are a Victorian heroine?! I love the idea of the Doctor traveling with a Victorian companion. Please, please be true. [ trailer ]

Dear Pastor: I’m a little scared and excited too, to see what you have to say about my latest nonfiction book. Your opinion matters to me more than I’d care to admit. Thank you for agreeing to check my theology before I start submitting it to agencies.

Dear Muse: having written what I now consider to be my masterpiece, I don’t know if I can write anything comparable. I hope so, because the world we’ve created together is worth inhabiting with many more crazy characters.

23 Replies to “Letters from Charity”

  1. I know! Which is why it’s crazy that I didn’t assume…or maybe I knew and I forgot. *laugh* Either way…

    I admit, I liked Stefan in the first season – but then he just started to annoy me. He’s too “stereotypical”, I guess. But gracious, I’m starting to see a trend here…I started out liking Angel and ended up loving Spike and now I started with liking Stefan and ended up loving Damon. *laugh* I guess I just love the many dimensions of the more “tortured” characters. Which must be why I don’t like the Twilight series (which you’d think I would since I love vampire movies/shows.)…none of the characters are tortured enough for me. ;P

    YES! Okay, just finished it. Loved, loved it. I mean, I still foresee a lot of conflict, but at least we know that her love is *real*. 🙂 But gosh, this could get really heart-wrenching…

    So yeah, I feel better. Thank you. 🙂

    1. Damon and Spike have a lot in common — both desire redemption so they can be worthy of the girl they love; Angel and Stefan on the other hand are tortured and somewhat resentful of their guilt. I suspect Joss got some of his ideas from The Vampire Diaries books, since they were published before his television show premiered. =P

  2. Okay, so I know this is an old post that I’m commenting on – but a friend told me that you also enjoy Vampire Diaries (of course, I should’ve assumed this, but sometimes I can be a bit dense, I admit.) so I had to comment! YOU’RE DELENA TOO! This makes me incredibly glad.

    My thoughts are the same as yours – Elana makes Damon a better person. Stefan is possessive and obnoxious – albeit attractive. 😉 I have yet to watch last night’s episode, but the episode previous to that one had me SO TICKED. They’re ruining it…Elana and Damon are meant to be together! WHY CAN’T THEY SEE THAT? I also love how Damon loves Elana no matter what – whether she’s human or vampire. He also loves her even after he sees the bad decisions she makes and the sins she’s capable of. He’s been there for her every time she’s needed him most…and I hate that the writers are trying to make it fake. IT’S NOT. *sob*

    What bothers me about Stefan is that it seems to me like he has Elana on this pedestal…and he desperately wants to keep her there. He has an obsessive personality (as we have seen by his “ripper” days.), so it makes sense. I just wish Elana could see this. Darn writers.

    Alright, I’m done for now. 😉

    1. If it has vampires in it, assume I’ve seen it or am a fan of it. 😉

      Much of the time, I like Stefan — but this season, he’s angered me quite a lot, by being over-protective, secretive, and bossy. I also want to know what Caroline’s problem is, since she’s done nothing but be judgmental and mean to her friends all season long — bashing Damon around Elena, and (as of last night) bashing witch-boy around Bonnie. I get that she likes Stefan and hates Damon but geez, girl, show your friends some respect.

      Last night’s episode will make you feel better. As Elena finds out from Tyler, a sire bond only changes your behavior, not your feelings. Plus (BIG SPOILER)… a sire bond is only formed with vampires when there are romantic feelings to start with. So there! Maybe not all is lost after all. =D

  3. I love these “little letters!” I am so excited for “Lincoln,” but will have to watch it with my brother who can filter what is “historically accurate” since he’s the history buff . . . tehehee. “War Horse” was a bit of a downer – I’ve never been a “Black Beauty” fan (not because they aren’t beautiful films or stories, but because they are too sad without enough of a happy ending to redeem the pain).
    On another note, I know you are kind of private about your written work, but I was wondering if I can find it on Amazon or ?? Or is just not available at this time? I am so curious to read one of your books (I enjoy your blog, so I’m sure I’d like a whole book).
    Cheers for the week!

    1. You didn’t like the ending of Black Beauty? *SPOILERS* He’s eventually sent home to live with his original owner and treated kindly for the rest of his life! But I agree, there is a lot of sorrow in that book.

    2. I THINK Lincoln is fairly accurate, but then — I don’t know much about the Civil War. Now, if we were talking the mid-1500’s…

      Why do animal stories always have to be depressing?

      No, none of my books are available for purchase right now. Sorry! Hopefully I’ll find an agent for my fantasy novel in 2013, and then you can read some of my fiction. Thanks for your interest, though. That made me smile. =)

  4. I’m so looking forward to the Doctor Who Christmas special and the introduction of Clara as well. These previews had me happily grinning: there’s snow, there’s the Victorian era, it’s going to be perfect! There’s just so much to look forward to in December: The Hobbit, The Doctor Who Christmas special, the Downton Christmas special!

    I can’t agree with you about War Horse though, I loved that movie, even though I bawled my eyes out.

    1. Maybe the Christmas special will be GOOD this year. So often, I find it a disappointment. (I wished I’d liked last year’s, but I didn’t.)

      I don’t like sad things. I fight depression so often, it’s not good for me to encourage it through dreary movies. 🙂

  5. Oh goodness, between Firefly, Serenity, and Castle (oh and Dr. Horrible!) I pretty much adore Nathan Fillion. As you work your way through the show’s run you are in for some terrific episodes and character development! This show is one of the best IMO about balancing the story arcs of the leads while not leaving the supporting players behind. 🙂

    I am so looking forward to The Hobbit and the Doctor Who Christmas special!!

    1. I got up to season three, and now will have to wait six months or so to see season four, so in the meantime I’m on to other series. I never did much care for “Firefly,” so that didn’t win me over to Nathan Fillion. =)

  6. Okay, I have NO idea why this did not hit my news feed….

    You have finally gotten on the Castle band wagon?! Yay!! =D Your Nathan Fillion comment made me chuckle =)

    Vampire Diaries….okay, so you’re Delena. I finally know =) Who knows what I would be/think if I actually watched the show…but as it stands right now, they are both pretty good looking dudes 😉

    War Horse was a movie I saw on Christmas Day last year. I was sitting in the theater going “I hate this movie. I hate this movie. Everybody dies!!!” Not exactly what you want to be thinking about on Christmas…..but Lincoln does look good.

    However, you do have Les Miserables and The Hobbit coming up so don’t make your Oscar ballot yet! I have my opening night tickets for The Hobbit too. Midnight showing as a matter of fact. Thank God that I could change my work schedule so I will at least manage a little sleep

      1. “Castle” premiered the same night as another show I wanted to try out, while “The Closer” aired at the same time on TNT, and only being able to record two things at once, I had to choose between “Castle” and another new series — I chose the wrong one, but after giving the other series two weeks to impress (it didn’t) I’d forgotten about “Castle.”

    1. Well, my introduction to Nathan Fillion years back wasn’t pretty. Let’s just leave it at that.

      Yes, I’m Delena. I have nothing against Stefan, but Elena makes Damon a better person — and no one else can do that. Out of love for his brother and for Elena, Damon is willing to sacrifice Elena — to let her stay with Stefan, which is far more noble than Stefan’s possessiveness. Damon loves her just as she is — human or vampire. It seems like Stefan doesn’t really have to work at being good (and when he goes on human blood, he’s HORRIBLE), but Damon does, so… he fights harder to be worthy of her. And yes, both boys are gorgeous.

      I need to reread your review of “War Horse.” I HATED it. I’m an animal lover, so any HINT of cruelty to animals and I fly into a blind rage. I wanted to shoot whomever wrote the book when I finished the movie, and then shoot Speilberg for taking two and a half hours of my life and forcing me to hate every minute of it. I should have quit watching but for the sake of writing a dang review, I kept going. Ugh.

      They abuse God’s name too many times in “Lincoln” for me to give it a full thumbs-up, but other than that, it was a terrific film. I’m not discounting “Les Miserables” as a Best Picture contender at this point (I think “The Hobbit” will be nominated, but won’t win regardless of how good it is) but I think “Lincoln” has a good shot at winning. It IS that good. (Then again, did “Amistad” win? I can’t remember, and that’s the closest thing comparable to this that Speilberg has done. I thought THAT was a great movie, too, but a lot of people were bored silly by it. Puh, they must have the attention span of a six year old.)

  7. Oooh, I should check out Dodger one of these days–and I’ve been meaning to watch the Hogfather adaptation too! xD

    I already like Jenna Louise Coleman’s character, lol, and she’s only said how many lines in the trailer? 😀 Did you watch the Children in Need prequel? I thought it was interesting 🙂

    The Hobbit, I was talking about it the other week and I may have freaked out my family because I normally don’t get that excited about things xP

    1. You’ll like Hogfather if you enjoy Pratchett. It has Michelle Dockery in it too, which is marvelous. I like her portrayal of Susan very much! “GO AWAY AND STOP. BOTHERING. ME.” Heh.

      Me too, but then, if Clara is anything like Oswin in the Dalek episode this season — she’s going to be just adorable, and charming, and a little bit sassy. I haven’t seen the prequel, no. I need to hunt it down.

      Was your outburst anything like mine? I think all that was coherent to everyone within listening distance was “AJSFWTHAW HOBBIT!!!” =D

  8. OH. MY. GOSH! Girl, I am so pleased you joined in this! Isn’t it fun!?

    First up…

    Love the Kelly Clarkson comment! Isn’t she fab!? I was watching the CMA’s and was like, “what? She’s up for best female vocalist!? She’s so NOT country.” (Listening to her “new” song now!)

    Castle: Good question! Where have you been on getting on-board with this show. Glad you are still liking it. 🙂

    Happy weekend.

    1. Yeah, it is kind of fun. =D

      I didn’t know who sang that fabulous song until I heard her name on the radio and then I went, “Waat?” But it IS a great song. Every time I hear it in the car, I have to pound on the steering wheel and pump my fist.

      Stop looking at me like that. =P

      Let’s see, I’m in the third season of Castle at the moment. Somewhere around… disk 3?

      You too. 🙂

  9. Mwahaha! Those are all awesome but I especially LOVE your Nathan Fillion comment!

    And Hot Topic has Doctor Who stuff?! Wow. Hmm, maybe I’ll have to go Caitlin’s birthday shopping there.

    1. I shouldn’t like Richard Castle. He’s a slut. Yet, he’s adorable, so I can’t help it. =P

      YES. They have sonic screwdrivers, and t-shirts, and other stuff. It is AWESOME.

Share Your Thoughts

