Get to Know… Jessica!

Name: Jessica

Personality Type: I’m an ENFP! And after looking at all the details of that personality type, I’d say it’s frighteningly accurate.

Famous ENFPs: Bill Cosby, Carol Burnett, Charles Dickens, Dr. Seuss, James Dobson, Sandra Bullock, Ariel.

What do you love most about yourself? My love of reading! I tend to feel sorry for the poor souls who can’t stand to read a book. How can anyone live without getting lost in the world of their imagination? I just don’t understand it! To quote George R.R. Martin, “A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.” Why would I choose to live one life when I could live a thousand?

What would you most like to change about yourself? My fear of bugs. It’s a ridiculous and unwarranted fear; and yet I still jump on a chair and scream like crazy when I see one!

Favorite Fictional Character & why: Honestly, it’s so difficult to choose just one – I love so many. But, if I had to choose, I’d probably say Buffy from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. She’s smart and capable and strong – and yet, she’s vulnerable and realizes the importance of family and faithful friends in her life. She knows she can’t do it alone. She makes mistakes (a lot of those.) but she always picks herself back up, learns from her mistakes and moves on. I really admire her – and I can relate to her in a lot of ways.

Name one possession that you absolutely love: The black formal gown that I bought recently and wore to see Les Miserables. I saw it on the rack, fell in love with it and bought it for $5 . Yeah, it was a Goodwill find – price tags still attached & never worn. I love that place!

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?  I would absolutely love to meet the Queen of England! Of course, I’d be insanely nervous, but it would be worth it to see her in person. I love her strength in the midst of adversity and her constant elegance. She is a beautiful example of a woman who has aged with grace. I admire her so much.

Tell us three of your “guilty pleasures”:

1. Star Wars! Or maybe I should say, Harrison Ford…

2. Nicholas Sparks’ books. Yes, they all contain the same basic plot, characters and ideas (and border on sappy), but they make for perfect lazy day reading.

3. Homemade Caramel sauce in my coffee! It’s scrumptious. Also, I like to add a dash of salt to give it a salted caramel latte taste.

Name one thing (book, song, movie, item) you wish you had thought up first: Much Ado About Nothing. It’s freaking brilliant. “Shall quips and sentences and these paper bullets of the brain awe a man from the career of his humor? No. The world must be peopled!”

Share several of your favorite quotes with us:

The amount of quotes I Iove is ridiculous. It’s so hard to choose just a few!

“I don’t play accurately–any one can play accurately–but I play with wonderful expression.” – Oscar Wilde, The Importance of Being Earnest

“The fascination of shooting as a sport depends almost wholly on whether you are at the right or wrong end of the gun.”  – P.G. Wodehouse

“I’m going crazy. I’m standing here on my own to hands and going crazy.”

Can you see air you breathe? Can you see the force that moves the tides or changes the seasons or sends the birds to a winter haven?” Her eyes welled. “Can Rome with all its knowledge be so foolish? Oh Marcus, you can’t carve God in stone. You can’t limit him to a temple. You can’t imprison him on a mountaintop. Heaven is his throne; earth, his footstool. Everything you see is his. Empires will rise and empires will fall. Only God prevails. – Francine Rivers, A Voice in the Wind

“Now it isn’t that I don’t like you, Susan, because, after all, in moment of quiet I’m strangely drawn toward you, but – well, there haven’t been any quiet moments.” – Bringing Up Baby

“You know when sometimes, you meet someone so beautiful – and then you actually talk to them, and five minutes later they’re as dull as a brick; but then there’s other people. And you meet them and you think, ‘Not bad, they’re okay,’ and then when you get to know them… Their face just sort of becomes them, like their personality’s written all over it, and they just – they turn into something so beautiful. Rory’s the most beautiful man I’ve ever met.” – Amy Pond, Doctor Who

What memory is the most special to you and why? When I think back through my favorite memories, one particular day from my childhood stands out. It was insanely hot in Texas, where I grew up, so one day, in an effort to cool off; we dragged the garden hose up into our play house and tied it up at the top of our tube slide. Thus, we created a water slide (Yes, we had quite the imaginations.) We spent all day playing on it and loved every moment.

Who is your favorite actor / actress? What was the first film you saw them in?

Call me old fashioned, but I’m going to have to say that Cary Grant is my favorite actor. He’s got the awesome ability to play different types of characters very, very successfully. I first saw him in Arsenic and Old Lace and I’ve enjoyed many more of his films since then. I think my favorite role of his is the character of C.K Dexter Haven in The Philadelphia Story. I laughed ‘till I cried!

My favorite actress would be Katherine Heigl who I first saw in 27 Dresses and who I continue to watch in so many hilarious and adorable films. Not only is she a phenomenal actress, she is also an inspiring woman; I nearly clapped aloud when I read that she and her then-fiance (now husband) decided not to live together prior to marriage. I don’t know what her reasons were, but it was still a decision that you don’t see people often making in Hollywood. Then, top it off with her heart of orphans and I was a fan for life. Also, you know it’s true talent when she can make Ashton Kutcher seem hilarious while he’s acting beside her.

“I would never get tired of talking about…”? Broadway Musicals! Les Miserables, Hairspray, Wicked, The Scarlet Pimpernel…you name the musical and I’d love to talk about it!

If you could own any animal as a pet, what would it be? A little Yorkie!!! They’re adorable and you can dress them up in little TuTus!!

One miniseries or television show everyone needs to try out at least once: Doctor Who – without a doubt. The perfect blend of Sci-Fi, humor, drama, romance, action, thrill and wit! Then, there’s the fact that it’s British – which is almost always a plus.

14 Replies to “Get to Know… Jessica!”

  1. “I tend to feel sorry for the poor souls who can’t stand to read a book. How can anyone live without getting lost in the world of their imagination?”

    Love this, Jessica!

    You and I have a lot in common, girl! Love your fave actress (she’s adorable!) and hadn’t read that about she and her hubby (it’s sweet, no matter the reasons). Also love what you said about Nicholas Sparks – I should have put that as “guilty pleasure.” Love his book-to-screen adaptations with exception to few. 🙂

    Great reading from your interview!

  2. Hi, Jessica, it’s nice to meet you. Congratulations on your awesome find at the Goodwill store. I, too, love Goodwill. I used to think I would never shop at a thrift store, but when money got tight a few years ago, I began doing so…and I love them. I have found some completely awesome dresses there, including, like you, some that still have the tags on them.

    I would love to take in Broadway musicals. I would love to see them on Broadway, of course; however, since I live in Idaho, that isn’t possible. I can only see the shows that come my way (when I can afford them). I did get to see Wicked and loved it. I had to miss Les Miserables due to the budget, but I am hoping to take in Beauty and the Beast in April.

    I, too, adore Cary Grant. While he is not my absolute favorite actor, he is among my top 7. I am completely and totally addicted to those glorious old movies, which is no shock to anyone, since I write Femnista’s classic movie column. Cary was the epitome of the perfect gentleman.

    Thanks for sharing about yourself!

  3. Hello Jessica, how nice to meet you and read your answers! That quote of Doctor Who you picked is great, I think I loved Rory best of all characters in the last two seasons.

    I can’t fathom living without books either, I always have difficulty understanding people who don’t read.

    Tryntsje

  4. Hi, Jessica! I’m a reader, too, and it thrills me to no end that my oldest daughter is one as well. And as my girls get older, it seems my younger two will be readers, too.

    Yay for Goodwill! I have found many things there. 🙂 And I almost always go there to get clothes for my kids. You can’t beat their prices!

    Mmm, Harrison Ford. He’s very easy on the eyes. 😉

    I love that quote by Amy. Charity is the one who made me really want to watch Doctor Who and it’s an amazing show. I think I consider it my favorite show, too.

    1. Hi Carol!

      YES! They have awesome prices. Instead of getting one shirt for fifteen dollars, I can get 3 shirts for five!

      My sister thinks I’m crazy – I’m glad someone agree with me on him. 😉

      Doctor Who is amazing. THREE CHEERS FOR FANS OF IT! 😀

  5. Hi Jessica, nice to meet you! Yay for books, I can’t survive a day without reading even just a page or something 🙂 Books are wonderful ❤

    I haven't read any of P.G Wodehouse's stuff (yet) but lol that quote you chose was fantastic 😀 And yay for Doctor Who! 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

