Get to Know… Hannah K.

Name:  Hannah Kingsley

Personality Type: I am an I/ENFP – meaning I am somewhat in-between being an introvert and extrovert.  I am a social person and I love being around people, but I also need more down-time than many extroverts.  (Most recently I scored ENFP, however)

Famous ENFPs: Cher, Wendy Darling, Carrie Bradshaw, Barack Obama.

What do you love most about yourself?

I dislike questions like this, they are hard to answer!  The answer would probably be something along the lines of eccentricity, though.  I am not a person who fits well in boxes (metaphorically, not literally- I’m pretty sure I could get in a box if I had to otherwise, haha..).

What would you most like to change about yourself?

I wish that I could speak more languages!  I have studied German and I am studying Japanese, but it would be nice if I could skip putting in the time and just be fluent, haha.

Favorite Fictional Character & why:

This might not sound all that original considering all the fandom surrounding the newest BBC installment on television, but one of my favorite fictional characters is Doctor Who.  Some of my admiration of Matt Smith’s role can be attributed to the personality of the Eleventh Doctor: zany, clever, witty, clumsy, and very eccentric.  However, what I like most is that Doctor Who is that he is a protector, a sort of big brother of the universe figure, and he reminds me of our relationship with God.  He is someone you can trust, and would be honored to list among your friends.

Name one possession that you absolutely love:

Fine-tip sharpie pens.  Don’t touch my sharpie pens. (;

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?

I’m sure the best answer is supposed to be Jesus. 😉

Tell us three of your “guilty pleasures”:

  1. Chocolate.
  2. Music.
  3. Dancing.

Name one thing (book, song, movie, item) you wish you had thought up first:

Les Miserables.   It is such a beautiful story..

Share several of your favorite quotes with us:

 Study while others are sleeping. Decide while others are delaying. Prepare while others are daydreaming.  Begin while others are procrastinating. Work while others are wishing… Persist while others are quitting. – William Arthur Ward

Leopold: What has happened to the world? You have every convenience and comfort, yet no time for integrity. – Kate & Leopold

When faced with two choices, simply toss a coin. It works not because it settles the question for you but because in that brief moment when the coin is in the air, you suddenly know what you are hoping for. –unknown

It’s far better to never reach your goals than to have opportunities given to you because you let someone manipulate you. It is better to die a loser than to die without honor and self-respect. But you won’t have to do either, because God’s plan is one of success without sin or shame. If you meet your dreams, let it be in holiness by the hand of God, and not by the controlling hand of man. Seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added unto you. – author unknown

What memory is the most special to you and why?

One that sticks out in my mind is seeing fireflies for the first time, in Japan.  They were so much smaller than I expected, and floated like stars or jewels in the dark sky.  I enjoyed being surrounded by giggling little girls dressed in their best kimonos, as they cupped fireflies in their hands and squealed in delight.  If every life had a highlight reel, that moment would be a play as part of it. (:  The moment was special to me because it was as if awe had been characterized in an instant.  The memory could appear in the dictionary, right beneath the word’s definition.

Who is your favorite actor / actress? What was the first film you saw them in?

My favorite actress is Natalie Portman, whom I first saw in her role as Queen Amidala/Padme in the Star Wars saga.  I admire her strength as an actress and the versatility of her roles.  I have always admired the range of emotion she was able to portray in film, as well as her believability.  Also, while her latest choices may not be the best litmus test, I like that Natalie has seemed more grounded as a person in compared to much of Hollywood, including by placing importance on academics.

My favorite actor is James McAvoy, whom I think I first saw in Penelope.  I feel that McAvoy brings a lot to the table as an actor, and takes his job seriously.  There are “lucky” people who get into acting on an accident or a lark, and then there are those who are really passionate about their craft.  I think that the passion comes through in McAvoy’s character portrayals, and it’s something that I enjoy watching.

“I would never get tired of talking about…”?

All the people I have met and their stories. (:  I love hearing people talk about their lives, and in turn retelling about the places they have been and the things they have seen.  Sharing stories is like living several lifetimes over.

If you could own any animal as a pet, what would it be?

A dog, certainly – my family already has two!  However, if I were to do a lot of traveling in the future, having a pet of my own probably wouldn’t be all that practical.

One miniseries or television show everyone needs to try out at least once:

Firefly.  I like that it manages to cross genres, and the comedic material is fantastic.  There are certainly some scenes and themes that the show could have done without, but with these exceptions, it makes for good entertainment.

Summer Rescue (http://www.dramacrazy.net/japanese-drama/summer-rescue/) would also be near the top of my list.  It is the first show that I have come to very much enjoy watching despite its having English subtitles.

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?

I’m sure the best answer is supposed to be Jesus  (seriously- who could pass that up?). 😉  However, I would also like to meet William Wilberforce, another personal hero of mine.  Wilberforce gave it everything he had to see that the oppressed saw mercy and justice.  I admire his drive and passion, and willingness to see something through to the end, even while going through personal struggles such as bad health and discouragement.  If we had more modern men made of stuff like that, I do not think we would need to fear much for the future.

16 Replies to “Get to Know… Hannah K.”

  1. Hi Hannah, nice to meet you! Great responses, I enjoyed reading them 🙂

    That’s awesome that you’re learning Japanese! (And German!) I totally know what you mean about languages, I wish I could fast-forward too and just be fluent already xP I crash-coursed Russian when I was in grad school (I can barely string a sentence these days) and was learning Italian this past year; I’m not so bad but I wish I was already fluent rather than thinking through each sentence and whether I’m using the right conjugation or not xP

    James McAvoy is fantastic! I can’t remember what show or movie I saw him first…probably the 2003 (ish?) adaptation of The Children of Dune. He was absolutely adorable in Penelope (and on an aesthetic level his hair was a lovely length there 😉 ). I’m still pressed that he didn’t get a best actor nomination for Atonement, I personally think that’s his finest performance to date.

    Your special memory about the fireflies sounds lovely! And yay for Doctor Who and Firefly!

    1. Hi, Li! Nice to meet you, too. (:
      Oooh, Russian! Now that is a language that I think I would have a difficult time of.. I have met two native-speakers so far, and I thought the language sounded quite difficult, though I think that some of it oddly mimics German. Italian is a neat language as well.
      Hhm.. I haven’t seen Children of the Dune, and I’ve yet to see Atonement. However, Penelope will likely always rank among my favorite films.
      Yay indeed! ^_^

  2. Thank you for sharing about yourself, Hannah. It’s nice to meet you. How awesome that you are studying Japanese. I’m sure it is a beautiful language. Like you, I agree that it would be nice to just be fluent in a language…without having to put in the time and effort to learn it. I know a few words and phrases in Spanish, but I could definitely not carry on a conversation, unless, of course, I was asking for pumpkin pie with whipped cream!

    I love the movie “Amazing Grace,” as it so beautifully showcases Mr. Wilberforce’s commitment to ending the slave trade.

    While I have never read the book “Les Miserables,” I have seen 3 versions of the film (30’s, 50’s, and 70’s) and am intending to watch all 3 again, plus the 90’s version prior to Christmas Day, when our family will attend the new Russell Crowe/Hugh Jackman/Anne Hathaway version. So far, the 70’s version is my favorite…ranking in my 10 favorite movies of all time. You are right, it is a beautiful story.

    1. Patti –
      You are welcome, and it is nice to hear from you, too! Yes, Japanese is a beautiful language!
      That is neat that you can speak some Spanish. ^_^ I think that knowing even bits and pieces of languages can be valuable, especially for making friends. Good luck in any future language studies!

      Yes, I like that movie, too. 😀

      I can’t wait for the newest Les Miserables to come out!! 🙂 Though probably, the version with Liam Neeson will remain my favorite, unless this next one can out-do it.

  3. Hello Hannah! It is wonderful to meet you.

    Hey, you can speak more languages than I can =) That’s always a regret of mine…….

    I think you aren’t the first person to mention William Wilberforce. He is a wonderful man to be sure!

    1. Gabrielle –

      It’s nice to meet you! As to language-learning.. it’s never too late to start! My great-grandma immigrated to Canada from Germany and later to the U.S… when she came to Canada she couldn’t speak English, and she was about 24 years old! Now she has an accent, but she is fluent and can read novels in English just as well as in German. She is one of my role models for language-learning and encourages me when I think I can’t do it. It’s time-consuming to study, but so well-worth the effort! What languages have you been interested in learning?
      He is, indeed! He’s definitely an inspiration to me.

  4. Hi Hannah~
    Loved reading your answers! Fireflies are amazing to watch, and that sounds like a very special memory. Were you in Japan for a mission trip, a vacation, or something else? Everything I’ve heard about it makes it sound like a fascinating place.

    James McAvoy is one of my favorite underexposed actors – very few people know him by name, let alone his films. One of the first films I saw him in was “Lorna Doone” (he gets married to Joanne Froggatt’s character). I’m SO glad he’s trimmed his hair a bit for his later roles! 😉
    And Natalie Portman is one of the most beautiful women ever . . .

    I love your quote about reaching goals in God’s timing, without assistance from man in a shameful way. Don’t let man try to manipulate you – what powerful words and a great reminder!

    Nice to meet you!

    1. Hi, Camille! ^_^
      It was special, indeed. I was there for a short English-teaching internship. I’m actually hoping to return this next summer for a (slightly longer) internship, and am in the process of fundraising! You can read about it here at my travel blog: http://happinessisawayoftravel.wordpress.com/
      James McAvoy is fantastic. I think he’s been gaining a following, though I wish he had more roles. I agree about his hair though, lol.
      I’m glad you liked the quote! 😀
      Nice to meet you..

  5. Hi, Hannah! Nice to meet you!

    Charity is the one who introduced me to Dr. Who and I will be eternally grateful to her for it. It’s my favorite show, and I think it will always occupy a special place in my heart. And I like Firefly, too! Did you ever watch Serenity?

      1. Hehe, me too!

        Did you ever see Dollhouse? There’s a character, Summer, and I kept thinking, “Where on earth is she from?” She was River! I love seeing the different characters in different shows. They all have such talent.

        1. No, I haven’t. (: I think it’s neat, though, when you see actors/actresses from your favorite series appear in something else- especially something that’s very different role-wise.

  6. Hi Hannah! I’m an E/INFP too (my E is mild and my F is slight) and I can sooooo see it in your answers. The giggles, the sense of adventure, awe, and ‘bigness’. The kooky streak and the emphasis on meaning. Love all your answers (and Mr McAvoy too) Nice to meet you 🙂

    “I’m sure the best answer is supposed to be Jesus” ROFL!

  7. Hey, there, Hannah!

    Love that you picked James as your fave actor – he either doesn’t take many roles or isn’t in high demand but I think he’s quite a good actor! Love him in ‘Penelope.’ 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

