Get to Know… Charity

infj

Name: Charity

Personality Type: INFJ. So me.

Famous INTJ’s: Lex Luthor, Michael Corleone, Thomas Jefferson, C.S. Lewis, Bruce Wayne, Gandalf, Sherlock Holmes, Professor James Moriarty.

What do you love most about yourself?

I can pull something spiritual out of almost anything — walking the dog, watching a blockbuster, even on rare occasion doing the dishes. Not that I do that much — the dishes, I mean. When you run out of spoons, that’s when you do dishes.

What would you most like to change about yourself?

That would come down between banning depression from my life, which I struggle with frequently, or being more outgoing and not as tongue-tied in public. I don’t socialize easily and can’t “light up a room” simply by being in it; that makes me wish I were an extrovert.

Favorite Fictional Character & Why:

Sherlock Holmes! When I read his mysteries at twelve years old, I fell head over heels for him. I admired his intelligence, his eccentricities, and his asexuality. I appreciated that unlike most literary detectives, he was not all about “wooing” women while saving them. He just saved them.

(Doctor Who is a close runner-up, though… and he must be included, since he’s inspired by Holmes.)

Name one possession that you absolutely love:

My home is full of things I would hate to part with… memorabilia, gifts people have given me, but my most recent favorite is a set of rhinestone-embedded measuring spoons with engravings in the stainless steel. I love them. They’re gorgeous!

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?

C.S. Lewis, because I think it would be wonderful to have tea with the man who created Narnia. I think he had one of the greatest minds of the last century and it would be amazing to listen to him talk. I’d pick his brain on theological matters, ask him to explain some of the things I can’t understand in his more serious books, and just… bask in meeting him.

Tell us three of your “guilty pleasures”:

  1. Vampire movies (and yes, that includes Twilight)
  2. S’mores (oh, so bad for you)
  3. Lady Gaga music (… no regrets)

Name one thing (book, song, movie, item) you wish you had thought up first:

I’d like to have invented Discworld, Terry Pratchett’s zany place full of unforgettably snarky characters. Where else do swear words pop into creatures out of midair, you might run into a zombie and a vampire on your way home from work, and Death on occasion takes a much-needed holiday?

Share several of your favorite quotes with us:

“Always forgive your enemies – nothing annoys them so much.” – Oscar Wilde

“Someone wants to kill you… everyone who has ever met you, I imagine.” – Sister Act

“Let them grumble. This is how it’s going to be.” – Anne Boleyn

“Maybe I am the villain of the story.” – Lex Luthor, Smallville

“I’m not a psychopath. I’m a high-functioning sociopath! Do your research!” – Sherlock

“Hello, Inner Child. I’m your Inner Babysitter!” – Susan, Hogfather

“He isn’t a tame lion.” –The Chronicles of Narnia

“I’m a mature and responsible adult!” “There’s just a bunch of wavy lines.” “Yeah, finally a lie too big.” – Doctor Who

What memory is the most special to you and why?

I have one recollection of my grandma showing me how my grandpa’s blood pressure taker worked when I was little. It shrank around my arm and hurt, so I screamed bloody murder. Pop (Grandpa) said, “Oh, Irene, let her go… her parents will think we’re murdering her.” It’s a special memory to me because it’s the only one I have of Pop.

Who is your favorite actor / actress? What was the first film you saw them in?

This is hard, because I really love a lot of the talent on display both now and in the past. But if I had to choose…

Stephen Dillane. I first saw him in Firelight when I was too young to fully appreciate it as a film, but it wasn’t until his performance in John Adams as Thomas Jefferson that I started paying attention. I greatly admire his ability to bring a sense of gentleness and maturity to his characters — even the less-likable ones, like Stannis Baratheon.

Cate Blanchett. Often, what I think of an actress has a lot to do with my perception of the first role I saw them in — for me, that was as Gertrude in An Ideal Husband. I loved the character so much it seeped over into my appreciation for Cate… and has grown by leaps and bounds in the years since. I got to see her as Gertrude, then Elizabeth I, and then Galadriel in The Lord of the Rings. But nothing can top her impersonation of Kathryn Hepburn in The Aviator. That was jaw-dropping genius.

My runner up, however, is…

Keira Knightley is hated because she’s in just about everything, but I’ve always liked her. And I’ll continue to like her as her substantial collection of work grows. I first saw her in Princess of Thieves, way back before anyone knew who she was.

“I would never get tired of talking about…”?

I think you can exhaust just about any topic if you discuss it long enough, but some of the ones I rarely get tired of are..

Titanic: I’ve been obsessed with this ship since I was fourteen. I’ve read just about every book there is out there about her, seen every miniseries, movie, and docudrama, listened to copies of the inquests after the sinking, and can point out the flaws in every adaptation. If it has anything to do with the ship or her passengers, I love it.

The Lord of the Rings: This movie trilogy BLEW MY MIND. It opened me up to the symbolism in fantasy and gave me an entirely new appreciation for film. I spent three years exploring the books and films from a scriptural perspective, and I wouldn’t be the person I am today if it weren’t for Tolkien.

Victorian literatureDracula is all about the evils of the time, seduction and feminism; Jekyll & Hyde is man’s attempts to repress evil; Frankenstein is a cautionary tale about playing God. If you look beneath the surface, just about every classic novel says something about the era in which it was written.

The Tudors: I’m not talking about the Showtime series, although I also loved that. I know the most about Katharine of Aragon, Anne Boleyn, Elizabeth I, and Queen Mary, but also a fair amount about the rest of the wives and Lady Jane. There are things I like and dislike about each one of them, but for the most part, I don’t think history has been kind to their memories. =P

If you could own any animal as a pet, what would it be?

Some sort of big cat… probably a Bengal tiger. I’m crazy about cats, so having one bigger than a house cat would be FABULOUS. You know, as long as it doesn’t eat me.

One miniseries or television show everyone needs to try out at least once:

Murder Rooms, a little-known BBC series based on the man who inspired the creation of Sherlock Holmes. There’s only five episodes, including the pilot, but it has terrific acting and tackles many of Doyle’s better-known cases from a new and interesting perspective. Plus, it has the ever-wonderful Ian Richardson in it.

20 Replies to “Get to Know… Charity”

  1. Why is it always the spoons that go first? Never understood that.

    Those hypothetical “Who would you meet with?”/”Who would you have lunch with?” questions are always popping up around our house! Dead or living usually has a big impact on answers, but C.S. Lewis almost always wins out on my end too. I really have to ask if you’ve ever read his space trilogy. It’s described as a “fairy tale for grown-ups”, and is chock-full of amazingly rich, thoughtful, theological commentary, despite being a fictional novel series. Perelandra, the second in the trilogy, is usually considered the best of the three, and I can hardly put it down any time I read it. A very think-y book. :p

    Lovely interview, Charity!

    1. I tried reading it when I was thirteen and it was much too over-my-head (plus, at that time I wasn’t yet into sci-fi) so I never finished it. I need to give it another go as an adult! 🙂

  2. “When you run out of spoons, that’s when you do dishes.”
    Precisely. As always, you have whanged the nail on the crumpet.
    (Undying admiration if you know what that’s a quote from.)

    Also…Death is one of my favorite characters ever. Also Susan.

    Stephen Dillane played one of my favorite Horatios.

    “The Lord of the Rings: This movie trilogy BLEW MY MIND. It opened me up to the symbolism in fantasy and gave me an entirely new appreciation for film. I spent three years exploring the books and films from a scriptural perspective, and I wouldn’t be the person I am today if it weren’t for Tolkien.”
    Wow, me too. My writing would definitely be incredibly different than it is now if it weren’t for those films introducing me to him.

    “The Tudors: I’m not talking about the Showtime series, although I also loved that. I know the most about Katharine of Aragon, Anne Boleyn, Elizabeth I, and Queen Mary, but also a fair amount about the rest of the wives and Lady Jane. There are things I like and dislike about each one of them, but for the most part, I don’t think history has been kind to their memories. ”
    How odd. I have a certain fascination for Henry’s wives as well. Not only because I’m related to two of them (Anne of cleves and Katherine Parr, the two no one knows about) but because they were all so different and had such insanely varied reasons for marrying him and for their ultimate fates and because it was such a crazy period of history with so many insane, up-and-down changes, and I just love English history.

    “Plus, it has the ever-wonderful Ian Richardson in it.”
    Did you ever see him as Bill Haydon in the miniseries “Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy”? He was everything Bill Haydon should be.

    1. Darn, I’m going to fail to get your undying admiration — although that does sound somewhat familiar, so I think I OUGHT to know where it’s from.

      Death is FABULOUS. As is Susan! Have you seen the ITV adaptation of Hogfather? It’s the most wonderful, zaniest Christmas movie ever! I saw it before I started reading Pratchett books and that’s when I said, “… I need to read this guy.”

      Did he, now? I may have to hunt that movie down!

      The movies introduced me to Tolkien too. Changed my life. Just finished a nonfiction book on the religious symbolism in the films that my pastor is checking for theological accuracy. Now, to see if anyone cares to publish it…

      How cool! I’m descended from Mary, Queen of Scotts through her son, James, on my mother’s side. It looks like we both have ties to the Tudor family. British history is indeed … mind-blowing. Out of the wives, I like Katharine of Aragon the most. I thought she was dull until I realized what an incredible woman she was, how intelligent and how she put up with so much, yet never lost her resolve or her faith. I’ve always threatened to name my daughters “Mary Elizabeth” and “Katharine Anne,” but maybe I oughtn’t be so cruel. 😉

      Admittedly, Tinker Tailer Soldier Spy lost me midway in so I never finished it, but I do remember the fun Ian seemed to be having with that part.

  3. I didn’t realize you meant actor AND actress either! *laugh* Should I email you my favorite actress?

    You’re not alone in your guilty pleasures! As you know, vampires are also one of mine. And yes, I enjoy some of Lady Gaga’s music too. 😀 It’s ridiculous how fun it is to sing along to her songs.

    I’ve heard of Terry Prachett’s Discworld series. It’s one that I’ve been interested in reading for a while – I need to see if my library has the first one. 🙂

    Also, I absolutely love the Tudors as well. When I was a bit younger, I got my hands on a 1,000 + non fiction book called, “The Six Wives of Henry VIII” and it fascinated me. After that, I couldn’t stop reading about his family. Good stuff. 🙂 It’s amazing to me how many different views there are of the Tudors – and not just slightly different – but drastically different perspectives of their lives.

    1. If you like, yeah! =)

      Lady Gaga is a first-class nutcase (who I didn’t even recognize the last time I saw her — man, has she put on a lot of weight in a very short time) but she does have some amazing songs — “Bad Romance,” “Monster,” etc. SO FUN.

      Pratchett doesn’t have to be read in order, so you can start pretty much anywhere with his books. I actually think the first two volumes are my least favorite, but they do have Ricewind in them, so they’re not a total loss. Hehe.

      Was that the David Starkey book by any chance? If so, I read it and disagreed with him profoundly on some things. You were saying about how many different views there are…? 😉

  4. Charity~
    I’m so glad you decided to fill one out as well (it seems only fair, since you thought up the amazing questions!)

    Explaining the letters helped me out a bit in understanding each of the types – I know mine and the INTJ (from your blog) but haven’t studied much about the others. What puzzles me the most about the fact I’m an INFJ is that I don’t think I tend to make decisions emotionally, but with logic. But I scored this way on the test, so maybe I’ve slightly deceived myself into thinking I am an “in control” person, when I’m actually a basketcase? Haha, oh well.

    But about your answers . .
    I LOVE that you can try to find something spiritual about most everything (that is why I read your posts). I also struggle with depression at times (I tell my mom that if I didn’t have Christ I’d be a HUGE mess), and I appreciate that you are so honest about your struggles. We always feel we have to be brave and not share this with other people. I don’t like to drag people down with it, but I wish I could share about it more often.

    I also can’t believe you admitted you like Keira Knightley! She is one of those people I love to hate, and now you have me wondering, why? Isn’t it funny how we sterotype actors/actresses into a dislike category, and then look back and are like, “why?’

    Enjoyed your answers!

    1. I think you tend to get to know the letters that your closer friends are first. Most of what I know about ISTJs, for example, comes from a friend of mine — she’s very careful never to tell lies! She values the truth most of all. I have another friend who is an INFJ like you… she tends to be dramatic sometimes but also doesn’t always make emotional decisions. I think it probably means that your emotions weigh more into your decision making process than they would otherwise — for example, do you keep a relationship because you “like” someone even though they drive you nuts?

      Depression is… a real beast to deal with. I do best when I have something to do that demands my creativity, and when I have people “paying attention” to me. My depression gets worse under stress and/or being ignored. And yeah, it’s a hard thing to talk about, because it seems so… attention-seeking, you know? Like, “Hey, I struggle with depression, feel sorry for me!” But that’s not it at all. And if we never tell people about it, they won’t know how to help us from BECOMING depressed.

      Ahem, well, it’s in my contrary nature to challenge people, so… yeah, I like Keira and I admit it. 😉

  5. First of all, I must tell you that I am so unfamiliar with this personality quiz that, quite honestly, everyone’s letters mean nothing to me. Other than the I and E of the result, I really don’t know anything about anyone’s personalities from this test. I know them as choleric, sanquine, phlegmatic, or melancholoy. I think the other test I know is the DISC test, but other than the I being super-outgoing, I don’t remember much else about it. All that to say, though you say you are INTJ, those letters don’t help me get to know you.

    The measuring spoons sound beautiful. Did you find them in an antique shop?

    I have always been rather fascinated with the Tudors as well, especially Henry VIII and his wives.

    I’m not all that familiar with your favorite stars (since I mostly watch old movies), but I do know Keira Knightley, and what I like so much about her is that she is not one of those massive-busted women whose breasts are nearly completely exposed and very much in your face.

    1. Knowing everyone’s “letters” doesn’t help unless you look them up, which is why I link to the individual personality type pages with each entry. They do a basic run-down of personality traits, how a person of that type is likely to respond in certain situations, etc. Knowing my friends’ types has been enormously helpful in assisting me in knowing how to respond to and communicate with them.

      What my type should tell you is —
      I = Introvert (93%, gain energy by being alone)
      N = Intuitive (big picture thinker, love abstracts)
      T = Thinking (make decisions with logic over feelings)
      J = Judgment (plan things rather than be spontaneous)

      Is that helpful at all?

      I did find them in an antique shop, but they aren’t antiques! They had a lot to choose from!

      The Tudor family is fascinating… and terribly tragic. You should get your daughter to lend you the edited set of The Tudors I gave you, if you’re interested in Henry and his wives!

      Yeah, poor Keira has nothing going up on top. So much so that they had to DRAW cleavage on her with makeup in one of her films. =D

  6. Ooh, I’ll have to look into Murder Rooms! And we can hang out with Lewis together. 🙂 I’m reading The Chronicles of Narnia to the girls right now (I’m on The Horse and his Boy and am even now discovering things I’ve never noticed before.

    1. It’s… brilliant. I love it. I wish the BBC hadn’t cancelled it before its time, the idiots. =P

      Yeah, when I reread Narnia not long ago I was surprised at many things Lewis had in there, least of all how “sparse” his writing actually is. Your imagination does all the work, which is remarkable.

  7. lol that would be pretty kick-butt if you had a tiger for a pet xP

    Cate Blanchett never ceases to amaze me at how amazing and versatile she is an actress. The range of her projects have been astounding and she has such elegant fashion sense too! And she seems so very nice and down to earth =)

    Victorian lit is ace, although I feel as though I’ve only scratched the surface of what was published at the time. So many books, so little time =D

    1. If I’m allowed to hang out with big cats in heaven, I’ll be one super happy girl. 😉

      Cate really is marvelous. I like the fact that she is so diverse that she tries not to play the same sort of character more than once… unless, of course, it’s a sequel!

      Yes, the over-abundance of literature is sad. I’ll never read all of it, since there’s more added every second! That may explain why a book has a short amount of time to impress me before I quit reading it. There’s bound to be a BETTER book out there to read!

  8. I just realized that when I returned this questionnaire to you, I only gave you a favorite actor…because for some reason, when I read “actor/actress” I read that slash as an “or.” WOW. That must’ve been a bad allergy day or something, lol! 😉

    I just wanted to echo your comment about “Murder Rooms” — I tried that series based on your recommendation when you wrote about it for “Femnista,” and I absolutely LOVED it! 🙂

    1. Yeah, I should have rephrased that differently, since most people picked just one! Oh, well, you can always amend it in an e-mail. =)

      Oh, I’m so glad you got a chance to see Murder Rooms! I was wondering if you ever had, and if you liked it! It’s so tragic there was only one full season. They could have done at least two or three more before Ian Richardson passed away.

Share Your Thoughts

