Name: Carissa

Personality Type: ISFJ. I have been solidly so for about 2 years!

Famous ISFJ’s: Louisa May Alcott, Queen Mary, Kristi Yamaguchi, David Copperfield, Melanie Hamilton, John H. Watson.

What do you love most about yourself?

I suppose the thing I love most about myself is my ability to get along with almost anyone, especially at work. Unless our personality types are completely incompatible (and I have met a few of those) I can usually lower most barriers and have a successful and, for the most part, a harmonious working relationship. Once I know what someone’s personality is like, usually through trial and error, our relationship is pretty solidly established. I know what will and won’t make them comfortable and stick to a line of communication that works.

What would you most like to change about yourself?

I would love to change my lack of initiative. Don’t get me wrong, I’m very hard-working in regards certain things. At work I focus myself very strongly on my tasks. If I didn’t those library cards wouldn’t get ordered and we’d run out of AAA batteries. I’ve got initiative in regards to work and plenty of it. It’s just the little goals I set for myself: the personal type goals.

In this case I’m referring to my writing. I have a book finished, you know. It’s nothing major, just a little fluffy Christian romance, but it’s mine. And it needs editing. Well, I hate editing. And because I hate it, I don’t do it. I’d rather just shove it aside and try my utmost to forget that it’s there. Except guess what? It’s always there! It niggles and bites and reminds me that it exists and needs to be completed. There’s nothing more irritating in the world to me then that feeling that there’s something I need to be doing and I have no initiative to do it.

So there you have it. My initiative is what most needs work in my personal life. And now that everyone knows, maybe that’ll help push me into getting that book finished.

Favorite Fictional Character & why:

I’ve had quite a few favorite fictional characters over time. But there’s one that my best friend introduced to me right after we first met so I guess he’d have to be my favorite character. In other words: Sherlock Holmes. I’m attracted to detective stories and detectives in particular. But if I were to be completely honest, for me, Holmes is a cut above the rest. He may be socially awkward, then again, maybe not quite so much. Holmes enjoys brooding or solving crimes but he also enjoys going out to dinner with his friend Watson and even going to the theater for a musical concert. He’s sharp as a tack and some of those stories are downright scary.

It’s fascinating to watch the progression of the era in according to how the tales are written. Doyle’s stories from the 1920s are particularly fascinating especially since they still take place in Victorian times. Sherlock Holmes was a masterpiece, clever, and shrewd, and not deluded by anyone. A part of me believes in his existence because it would be impossible not to. Sherlock Holmes is THE detective just as Irene Adler is THE woman.

Name one possession that you absolutely love:

The one doll I’ve owned for as long as I can remember is one that my mother made. Her name is Charlotte and she’s a cloth doll with plastic hands and a plastic head that’s had to be replaced twice now. My sweet sister completely re-rooted Charlotte’s hair for me a few years ago as well as made her a new outfit to join the myriad others my mother has made for me over the years. This doll has come with me through the many moves my family has made. She’s not just a toy anymore but more like family. I can’t imagine ever not having her. She’s that precious to me.

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?

I should like very much to meet William Wilberforce, the great abolitionist of England during the Romantic Era. Fortunately for me, he was a Christian and so someday that wish of mine will be granted. But if I could meet him now I would thank him for his perseverance in pursuing a cause he knew to be just and of God. He might have been frail in body but he was strong in spirit. If you’ve never seen Amazing Grace it is the story of Wilberforce and I can’t recommend it highly enough.

Tell us three of your “guilty pleasures”:

  1. Cheese Curds (yum)! And believe me when I say they’re nearly impossible to find in Colorado. The Tillamook Cheese Factory in Oregon had some of the most delicious cheese curds I’d ever eaten.
  2. Regular Dr Pepper. I’m usually a good girl and drink diet but when it comes to Dr Pepper I just love the straight-up sugar rush.
  3. Shopping at Christopher & Banks, regardless of the cost of their clothing. I love the style and once in a while I do save up for a spree.

Name one thing (book, song, movie, item) you wish you had thought up first:

The one thing I wish I’d thought of first is the character of Rick Castle from the hit TV series Castle. A mystery writer who trails along after a female detective in order to write books based on her? Come on, what’s not to love? The concept and character development is sheer genius and I’m only a little bit jealous of his creator.

Share several of your favorite quotes with us:

“How blessed are those whose way is blameless, who walk in the law of the Lord.” Psalm 119:1

“All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work.” II Timothy 3:16-17

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out of your door,” he used to say. “You step into the Road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there is no knowing where you might be swept off to.” – The Fellowship of the Ring, one of Bilbo’s quotes spoken by Frodo

“Hey, you have a soft spot for the mortal ones. A fascination with all the charming things they do, while listening to the ‘tick, tick, tick’ of their own looming demise. That’s fine. That’s good. Everyone needs a hobby.” – Josef, Moonlight

“Seeing isn’t believing, believing is seeing.” – The Santa Clause

“To be or not to be, that is the question: whether ‘tis nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune or to take arms against a sea of troubles, and by opposing end them?” Hamlet, Shakespeare

What memory is the most special to you and why?

I really need a video camera to follow me around in order to preserve my memories because I’m not that good at preserving them myself. But, one memory that comes to mind was when my family lived in Oregon. I was about 10 at the time and my grandmother came out from California for a visit. She wasn’t very old then, in her mid-seventies so still very spry and imaginative. We would walk down the road to the huge hedge of blackberry bushes and pick baskets of them to make into jam and jelly. My sister and I would dress up with pillows on our backs and hobble around with walking sticks and Gram would play little old lady with us, even pretending to hobble when she didn’t need to just yet. It was a really special time and one of the most solid memories I have of my grandmother. I was old enough to recall her visit and she hadn’t yet started her descent into senility. The visit was beautiful.

Who is your favorite actor / actress? What was the first film you saw them in?

I really need to give 2 answers to this question because I have 2 favorite actors.

First for #1, I admit that I went around in loops a few times trying to pick just one. But Laurence Olivier is the winner. Some of you are probably going “Who?” and I don’t blame you. He’s been dead for many, many years. But he wasn’t dead in 1938 when he was Mr. Darcy in Pride & Prejudice and just stole my heart away. I was about 20 when I first saw that movie and I’m serious, my heart literally stopped and then thundered. It doesn’t matter that I look back at his movies now and think to myself “Wow he was quite the ham.” His general hamminess doesn’t detract from the adoration I still feel. Not every actor could successfully pull off Mr. Darcy, Heathcliffe, Hamlet, and even Van Helsing in the 1979 Dracula along with a myriad other roles in dozens of other films. This is why when Kenneth Branaugh portrayed him in My Week with Marilyn I just couldn’t see it. No one but Laurence Oliver could ever play himself. He won my heart when I was fresh out of my teens and is still one of my top favorite actors today.

Now then, on to my #2 choice, someone I’ve loved even longer. I believe I was about twelve when I first saw an Elijah Wood movie. It would have been either Flipper or The Adventures of Huck Finn. I loved both of them, regardless of whichever film I saw first. He did get forgotten for several years but then when I was a teenager and The Lord of the Rings was headed to theaters and Elijah was cast as Frodo, I loved him all over again. He may not be the best actor ever and he hasn’t done that many particularly great movies. But he charmed me as a kid and he charms me still today. Maybe it’s those gorgeous baby blue eyes of his or just the fact that he’s unusual-looking or that I saw him in a dress as Huck Finn or that he played with a dolphin when I was about the right age to first fall in love with dolphins. He’s been a constant for years.

“I would never get tired of talking about…”?

The Lord of the Rings! This seems to be the case since Tolkien and hobbits and elves and Middle Earth are all I’ve been talking about for a few months now. I’ve loved Tolkien for around 14 years but got seriously involved in 2001 when The Fellowship of the Ring came out. For 4 solid years that’s all I could think about it. And with The Hobbit in sight I’m right back on that delightful bandwagon.

If you could own any animal as a pet, what would it be?

Maybe a Lemur would be fun to own. I’ve probably seen Madagascar one too many times which is why it popped into my head. But I’ve also seen lemurs at my local zoo on their cute little island. And when I called to them, sort of like in the movie Dinosaur, they answered. They’re cute, fluffy, and I just love those rings on their tails.

One miniseries or television show everyone needs to try out at least once:

I guess I’ll go with 21 Jumpstreet just for the experience. That would be the brilliant TV show and not the idiotic movie that spoofed it. You have Johnny Depp in a role that’s more hours than he’s ever acted in all his movies combined plus the comedic genius of Peter DeLuise who I just love (hint: he directed several seasons of Stargate SG-1). If you were ever curious about the 80s then this show is the ideal way to familiarize yourself with the era. I was born in the 80s so it’s fascinating for me to look back on what I lived through but was too young to comprehend.