Get to Know… Caitlin

I’ve asked our Femnista writers to fill out a short but informative questionnaire, so you can get to know them better. Each writer will be highlighted in alphabetical order (unless you’re one of them and don’t get yours in on time; then you must wait!). If you’re one of my writers and haven’t gotten a questionnaire, please let me know.

Name: Caitlin.

Personality Type: ISTJ. It actually is my personality type, too, almost to the point of being really scary close.

Famous ISTJ’s: George Washington, Andrew Johnson, and Puddleglum from Narnia.

What do you love most about yourself? I love having a good old-fashioned sense of humor. I’m the sort of person who loves clean and semi-morbid humor and enjoys a variety of things that fall in between: from Castle to Singin’ in the Rain!

What would you most like to change about yourself?

If I could change one thing about myself it would be my really soft library voice. I would actually like to sing and be heard while doing it or talk to someone and not have to repeat myself. I know I won’t get what I want either, so I just crank my volume up a notch and figure that even if I can’t hear myself sing, God can.

Favorite Fictional Character & why:

My favorite fictional character would have to be Sam Gribley from My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George. I first read the book when I was about ten and have loved it ever since. Sam is very inspiring as a go-getter and do-er, instead of an “I’ll get around to that sometime this year” person. His ability to live off the ancestral Gribley land in the famous Catskill Mountains and make friends with his woodland neighbors is always something to put a smile on my face. And yes, it satisfied my very strong urge to run to the woods and live on nuts and berries whilst residing in a cave.

Name one possession that you absolutely love:

My cat, Bubbles. She is my little go-to girl, my confident, my hot water bottle, and my wake-up call in the morning, all wrapped up in tabby fur! Really, though, I don’t know what life would be like without that little face appearing and issuing a “Meow” every day.

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?

Sadly, I am a grave robber in this, I would want to meet George Washington and ask him about the times in which he lived. I would want to know more about his philosophy for America and who he considered his good friends and what his views of France really were. I would want to know more about his relationship with Martha and ask if he thinks he would be remembered for all time. I would then commence to tell him that people still love him and that Mt. Vernon is still standing and that his face is on the $1 bill. If only…

Tell us three of your “guilty pleasures”:

  1. Watching anything with Gordon Ramsey. I hate him but can’t give up his shows. They’re as addictive as chocolate.
  2. Terry Pratchett books. Their probably the strangest things I’ve ever read but I keep going back for more.
  3. Superheroes. I love superheroes now, which is really strange since I hated them for almost 18 years of my life. I think Captain America changed my mind.

Name one thing (book, song, movie, item) you wish you had thought up first:

Since item is on the list, does a Space Shuttle count? I’m no astro-physicist or scientist or mathematician, but I would have loved to say that I helped build a space shuttle. Imagine being involved in sending someone to another world, like Mars?

Share several of your favorite quotes with us:

That’s a tough question. This questionnaire could turn into a really long book filled with my favorite quotes, so I’ll have to think. Hmmm, here are a few of them at any rate:

“I’m not a cab driver, I’m a coffee pot!” – Arsenic and Old Lace

“So do all who live to see such times, but that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.” – The Lord of the Rings, The Fellowship of the Ring

“Steal five dollars and you’re a common thief. Steal thousands and you’re either the government or a hero.” – Going Postal

But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint. – Isaiah 40:31

What memory is the most special to you and why?

Probably my Grandmother Virginia giving a box of Sun Maid raisins to me as a little child and sitting and talking with me while I ate them. She was always a very sweet, loving lady who helped teach me to pray and didn’t mind that I was head shorter than everyone else my age. That memory of the raisins always brings that back into my mind.

Who is your favorite actor / actress? What was the first film you saw them in?

I would probably say Christian Bale. He’s the only actor that I’ve actually seen in several films, or watched a film because he was in it. The first film I saw with him was either Treasure Island or Newsies. I can’t say which one I saw first, as I have shadowy memories of his version of Treasure Island from when I was a kid. But I do remember Newsies and have loved and watched that one for years.

“I would never get tired of talking about…”?

History. Art History. Ancient History. The History of Fashion. World War History. The History of Food. You name it and I probably like it, so long as it’s history. And while I may not get tired of it, I’ve learned to use my off switch when talking to others. I know that what I love is not necessarily loved by everyone else, too.

If you could own any animal as a pet, what would it be?

Nothing that would be able to eat me, please! I think if I could own any animals as a pet, it would probably be exactly what I have right now, a house cat. They are small, furry, purry, friendly, and very personable. Besides, they also make great lap-warmers in winter!

One miniseries or television show everyone needs to try out at least once:

Probably The Wild, Wild West. It’s the only Steampunk-esque Sci-fi Western TV show ever made and is really imaginative and unique.  You will love Robert Conrad and Ross Martin in it, who were the absolutely best dressed due of the Wild West. I have my awesome mom to thank for introducing me to this show, which she watched when it first aired in the 60s on Television.

20 Replies to “Get to Know… Caitlin”

  1. Caitlin, there are so many things I love about you — your talent, your creativity, your love of history… you are such a fun person to know, and I’m so grateful for that blessing.

  2. Hi Caitlin *waves*. I always like Puddleglum the best in that book – yes he was gloomy but he was a proper stubborn hero in the end. When he stamped out the green fire I cheered 🙂

    Totally with you on the history offload. I get very excited over topics that interest me, and I’m still learning to use my ‘off’ switch!

  3. Nice to meet you Caitlin. I am right there with you on loving history. I homeschooled my kids through high school, and history was always my favorite subject to teach.

    I have never read “My Side of the Mountain.” I assigned it to my son, I know, but I never read it myself.

    1. Greetings! Ah, another history lover, too! I guess I first loved it while reading Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder.

      My Side of the Mountain is really marvelous, perfect for a boy, or anyone who has that sense of adventure! I didn’t really care for the second and third books in the series, I consider the first to be best.

  4. Great to meet you Caitlin! I enjoyed reading your answers =) lol we chose the same LOTR quote for the favourite quotes bit–it’s such a profound quote, I love it (then again Gandalf had so many wise words to share throughout the book). And yay for history! History was my favourite subject in school, there’s just so much to read and talk about in that field =)

    1. It’s wonderful to meet you, fellow history lover! Yay! I never, ever get bored with history, there’s just so much to read about it.

      Yes, I do love that quote from LOTR and you are quite right, it is very profound. It was probably one of the most moving conversations I had ever heard when I first saw it in December, 2001. =)

  5. What a need idea to get to know all the writers!
    Nice to meet you Caitlin – I’m looking up Terry Pratchett books and The Wild, Wild West!

    1. It’s nice to meet you as well, Camille! I do love Terry Pratchett books, my favorites are Going Postal and Making Money and you don’t actually have to start at the very beginning of the Discworld novels to read them.

      If you do get The Wild, Wild West, the second and third seasons are better than the first. The first is in black and white and the writers were still trying to figure out the characters of James West and Artemis Gordon. Everything is much tighter in the second and third (and the studio, CBS, made the transition to vibrant color!)! =)

      1. Thanks for the head’s up on which books to start on. I looked her up on Amazon and was overloaded with all these choices! Now I know where to go.

        Wild, Wild West . . now in my Netflix Queue 🙂

    1. Aha, then you must be my sister! Hello, dear =)!

      My Side of the Mountain lets me give in to my wilderness craving without having to actually live off roots, berries, nuts, and wild trout, and sleep in a hollowed out tree.

  6. Awesome to meet you, Caitlin! We have a whole bunch of similarities =)

    I have to agree with you on one thing in particular, though….everyone should watch “The Wild, Wild, West” at least for a few episodes 😉

Share Your Thoughts

