I Am a Writer

Most people go about their day normally. They see things, say “Huh, that’s nice,” and move on. They watch a movie and go, “That wasn’t bad.”

Generally, though, that’s not what writers do. What do they do? Everything they see, they file away in their memory for use at a later date. (Some of those things will have to wait a long, long time… for the sake of the author, since people don’t always appreciate their mass absurdities turning up in best-selling novels. Unless you’re clever about it, of course, and they don’t know where you came up with such excellent stuff.) Everything they read, they analyze. What works? What doesn’t? What makes it good? What makes it bad?

Movies and television shows are not immune. Writers don’t kick back and enjoy, they critique. How come that absurdly modern bit of dialogue just popped up in Dickens’ England? What was this writer thinking when he/she went with that cliché? How romantic can a proposal made in the rain really be?

But mostly… they can’t stop writing. They couldn’t even if you forbid it. In such cases, they would resort to scribbling on the backs of grocery sacks or their bedroom wall, or maybe on the arm of a passing child or two.

If you wake up and you can’t wait to write something, you’re a writer. If you’ve tried to stop and can’t for more than a short amount of time, you’re a writer. If you are slightly demented when it comes to protecting other literary creations, as if they were “real” people and their character is being defaced… you’re a writer.

Or maybe you’re just me.

Because that’s what I am: a writer.

And I’m entering Jeff’s contest. You should too. But hurry up, the deadline’s tomorrow!

6 Replies to “I Am a Writer”

  1. OMG! I thoght that I was the only one who acted liked that. I wished I could talk with someone about my ideas tô a new projeto that I have, however, I don’t really know many writers whom I candidato share with.
    Great post by the way.

  2. This is so true. Another thing that I’ve found to be true is that stories and characters stay stuck in my head until I write them down. They refuse to go away. If writing is a calling then it will stay that way. I’ve returned to college in my late twenties, and debated the past 2 years as I’ve taken my general ed. classes whether I should go with something practical as a major or go into the arts.

    My conscience all that time kept telling me that writing and art is my path, but the voices from the world (mostly professors and co-workers) told me otherwise. If something is your calling then you must go with it. I’ve spent time working other jobs throughout most of my twenties, jobs that I wasn’t very well suited for.

    I did them well but they didn’t make me happy. I’ve found out that my desire won’t die. I’ve tried killing it and ignoring my desire but it always resurfaces. Anyway, awesome post. Going into the arts isn’t an easy path, the world will try to dissuade you from it. The past 2-3 months I’ve realized its not going to go away, ever, which made me all the more determined to go into the arts.

    Honestly it really helps to have other writers/artists in your circle of friends. You really need that support from each other. 🙂

    1. I admire your courage in choosing to pursue art, even when others say it isn’t practical. I trend that way myself… realizing it’s impractical, that the odds are completely and utterly against me making a success of it, but you can either deny the gifts you have been given and be miserable, or you can do your best. I’ve heard it said that if you love what you do, and you do it as best you can, others will share your passion for your art and support you. So good luck! =)

Share Your Thoughts

