This Year, I Resolve…

The three words we all dread: New Year’s Resolution.

We mean well, right? But usually two weeks in and we throw in the towel. It has to be something worth doing, something beneficial, and something that doesn’t suck – it has to be at least a little bit fun.

I gave mine long, hard thought this year. I have a list of things I would like to accomplish, but I don’t know that they need a “Resolution” to make them official… they just need doing! I bandied about my options: vowing to stay away from sugar, for example, but I had planned on doing that anyway. I thought about not buying anything for myself until after Easter, but I do my shopping so sporadically anyway that is kind of a cop out. I thought about resolving to “find myself,” but… who knows where that would lead. I considering resolving to be funnier… but some days I’m just not funny and there’s no point in pretending. I also thought about saying to heck with it, and not having a resolution, but that didn’t work for me either.

So I finally landed on something new that might even be fun, but also beneficial: this year, I resolve to try new things, among them, a more organic lifestyle.

Now, we are pretty organic as it is; our toothpaste doesn’t even have fluoride in it, and we pretty much eat only what we fix ourselves – not out of a box or a can, but on the top of the stove. In fact, now that my body is weaned off the chemical soup your local supermarket calls food that stuff makes me sick. (Kind of like how starving kids in Africa get our charitable food items in cans and it makes them sick: it’s not real food.) I’ve never really been a high maintenance person. I don’t even like blow-drying my hair or using much product in it. BUT I’m not as organic as I could be. I still use shampoo and conditioner even though I know better. I still shell out big bucks for facial cleansers and the like. And, I don’t have to. That’s the sad part.

This year, therefore, I’m going to give “no-poo” (no shampoo) a decent shot and try the baking soda and water routine. It’s doable and my hair likes it. I know this because I’ve done it before but got lazy and quit. There is a ton of stuff out there on the internet about why people go “no-pooh” that I won’t bother repeating, except that it’s way less expensive that buying shampoo and conditioner (and other hair products), it brings out any natural curl you may have in your hair, and it makes your hair really soft and shiny. I’m also going to experiment cleaning with apple vinegar, and explore alternative ways to get clothes clean in the washing machine. I figure it will be fun to try out new things, to see how my hair turns out, to add up the money I save, and so forth.

Going organic was probably the second best thing that ever happened to me (second to finding a relationship with Jesus Christ). It improved my health, it prevents me from being sick very often, it cleared up my skin and I no longer get sunburned, my sunlight-related headaches went away, and I slimmed down. It is more work. It means mixing things yourself and meal planning ahead, and yes, it is more expensive to buy organic beef from a local meat locker than it is to buy the stuff in the supermarket, but everything tastes better, and the benefits on your health are great. I’m losing a lot less hair down the drain, my taste buds have sharpened, and I feel better knowing that I am supporting an industry that is home-grown, all-American, and does not mistreat their animals.

(You don’t want to know what they do to non-organic dairy cows. It’s awful and inhumane and it makes a puppy mill look good.)

I wish you success with whatever resolution you go with (or none at all!). God bless each and every one of you!

7 Replies to “This Year, I Resolve…”

  1. What’s this about baking soda? I recently found out about what things like shampoo and detergent do to our environment and have been considering trying to find a less damaging alternative, but if you can just use baking soda then heck, I already have that in the cupboard!

    1. Many people simply mix up baking soda (1 part baking soda to 8 parts water — which would be about a tablespoon of baking soda in a cup of water) and water and use it to clean their hair; but it is usually recommended that you follow it with a apple cider vinegar rinse (same formula applies). It works great once you get settled into it, but I WILL warn you that when you start off — you’ll hate what it does to your hair. Your hair generally has gotten not only used to harsh chemicals stripping all its natural oils, but has shampoo build-up, so it takes about two weeks to break all that down and get to the point where your hair has adjusted to a simpler routine. (Basically, your hair will be oily for a little while — you can tame it down somewhat with double rinses, but don’t give up too soon… and believe me, you will be tempted to give up.)

      Another solution is all natural shampoo bars. I used them for a long time and loved it, but then for some reason or another (laziness?) went back to shampoo — I’ve really enjoyed the bars from Chagrin Valley (www.chagrinvalleysoapandcraft.com); they have a huge selection and everything is all natural. Either way, have fun with it and maybe give a few of their sample shampoos and soaps a go!

  2. No more sunlight-induced headaches, eh? Maybe you can venture back to Florida to see me one of these days, then! ;o)

    I’m glad you’re doing so well health-wise. I pray you keep it up. =o) I do feel I should say, though, that the processed foods starving kids get do not make them sick because they’re processed. If they get sick from it, which is not common, it’s because their bodies aren’t used to eating that much and/or the food is far richer than the rice or flatbread they usually eat. Eating processed food is far healthier than eating not enough food.

  3. Well, Yours Truly lost 30 lbs. about five years ago and just recently gained 20lbs back. With my physical just 10-11 days away, I have spent the past month on a low cholesterol diet, cheating every once in awhile.

    So, my health goals are more than a resolution, it’s starting my healthy lifestyle…again.

    I’m not really into the organic diet thing; I just eat more good stuff and less bad stuff and spend more time at the gym 🙂 If I could afford it, I’d plunk down $100 for a personal trainer. For the time being, my co-workers and I are “competing” to see who can lose the most weight or be the healthiest or whatever in the next month. Snacking is limited to fruits, veggies, and nuts and nothing with high fructose corn syrup.

  4. So do you get flouride anywhere? I’ve read that without it, we can develop white or brown spots on our teeth, and the dentist is always saying how much the girls need it.

    I think I’ll end up going shampoo free this year, too. The only reason I haven’t yet is that I have shampoo and conditioner that I’m still using up (I don’t shampoo every day, or even every other day, so it lasts a long time). If you find any techniques that really work, let me know! I’m going to experiment, too.

    1. Nope, but I’ve been without it for a couple of years now with no problems. *shrug*

      Good for you! I know how you feel, with having shampoo / conditioner to use up, only I DO have to shampoo every day. I am cursed–erm, blessed with oily hair. Back when I was doing it faithfully, a teaspoon of baking soda dissolved in a cup of warm water, then a good rinse, and a couple of minutes with one teaspoon of apple cider vinegar dissolved in a cup of warm water (just on the ends, not the scalp — and no, your hair won’t smell bad) was enough to get my hair clean. =)

Share Your Thoughts

