Femnista Sept/Oct 2012

Includes: Amadeus, Secretariat, The Greatest Game Ever Played, The Vow, Walk the Line, Freud’s Last Session, Amazing Grace, Marley & Me, The Social Network, Evita, Iron Jawed Angels, The Blind Side, Sophie Scholl, I Want to Live, Lawrence of Arabia, Seabiscuit, Soul Surfer, The King’s Speech.

Read online or download

If you enjoy our publication, please help promote it on livejournal / facebook / your blog.

You can direct link or embed links to it here.

Past issues are archived at Charity’s Place.

18 thoughts on “Femnista Sept/Oct 2012

  1. glitteringbutterfly says:

    Charity, I just finished reading your article on Francis Ouimet and wow, that was amazing. I’m reminded again of how much I love that movie even though it’s been at least 4 years since I’ve seen it. I just put it on hold. That’ll be something fun to watch during my break next week. Well done!

    • Well, thank you! =)

      I was hoping it wouldn’t be too redundant, since I wrote it from memory and THEN watched the movie again. It’s wonderful, it truly is. But then, I’m a bit biased in favor of Stephen Dillane, so…

      I’m working today, but maybe this evening I can e-mail or call you, and we can discuss what fun thing to do while you’re here the night before the tea. Seems like we ought to celebrate Halloween somehow!

      • Carissa says:

        I’m working tonight but perhaps you could call tomorrow evening. I’m nearly done with my creative writing project for my lit class and I’m so tired of it that I don’t even really care what type of a grade I get. Then again, I guess I really do care. Maybe it will tickle my professor’s funny bone. If I get a good grade I’ll probably post it on fanfiction.net. At least I think it’s fun. Teachers can be so darn difficult to please. I’ve worked on it for so long that I’m starting to speak in rhyme. Eeek!

        I’m looking forward to having fun. Fun is good!

        • I’ll do that then. Although if you see “Major Crimes” before then, I’ll hear your scream of rage across the miles. ;) Good luck with your creative writing project! I’m sure the teacher will enjoy it. =)

          • Carissa says:

            Oh no, oh no, oh no! I don’t want to give a scream of rage. I want things to stay the way they are. I don’t want Rusty TO LEAVE! Wahhh! Can you tell I’m heading towards being very emotional? I’m so very attached to him. I’m watching this episode tonight after work, no question.

          • Carissa says:

            Who the heck does Daniel Dunn think he’s kidding? After that thorough talking-to Sharon gave him before, does he really think he can get away with punching Rusty like that?! My gosh, the man is insane! Not only is he on Sharon’s death wish list but he’s on mine now too. Oooooh, I despite him!

            That seriously was an awesome episode and i think that means Rusty is STAYING! Yeah!

          • Here’s the deal — how stupid is this man, to punch a kid who is being looked after by a COP, who works with — gee whiz, a room full of COPS? That takes some major lack of brain function right there. You do not mess with cops’ kids! I hope for the season finale next week they don’t skip some sort of confrontation, because I want to see Sharon take him down!

  2. Camille G. says:

    Great Femnista! I loved reading everyone’s contributions – and getting to be a part of the process! You did a great job with pictures Charity, I loved comparing the “real” with the movie, and you found pictures for almost everyone.

  3. Nice theme! There were things in there I had no idea were based on real life. For instance, I’d been deliberately avoiding ‘The Vow’ because it looked like a sappy chick-flick in the adverts, but if it really happened (more or less)… DUDE!! That’s suddenly so much for interesting to me. I’m planning to rent it next week.

  4. Ruth says:

    Congrats on the new issue! I look forward to reading it! (BTW, sorry for the lack of comments lately, but it takes about six tries for WordPress to successfully let me log in every time I visit…)

  5. This issue – as usual – looks great! Unfortunately, I don’t have the time to download it this morning. Hopefully late this afternoon I’ll be able to take a look at it. YAY!

    Thanks for ALL of your hard work in putting this together, Charity.

    • I feel like this issue was “rushed” for me, because I had so much going on that week (including a funeral) but fortunately, all the submissions were so fantastic, it turned out terrific anyway! =)

Share Your Thoughts

